We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, cosy interior, v friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flowing Well

The Flowing Well
Sunningwell, Abingdon OX136RB, England
+44 1865 735846
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Flowing Well is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 79 Restaurants in Abingdon
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: British, Pub, Tapas, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy interior, v friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Yet another nice visit toThe Flowing Well, elevated above the village. The Lovely wooden terrace has a lovely country view and is well furnished. Sadly too cold for that today! Roaring wood burner made up for the cold and menu was nice. Extremely friendly and helpful American waitress now in addition to other equally friendly representatives from around the globe! Only disappointment today was the roast potato - apparently "twice cooked" which works for fabulous chunky chips but here just tasted like reheated. Shame, as presentation of roast and range of vegetables was great. Does not put me off as the place as a whole is a great place to have local.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    59
    22
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice People, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to the Flowing Well on Saturday and were impressed by the new decor and fit out. The service was personable and efficient, and the food was delivered swiftly. The pub is very pleasant, even if it did look a bit generic gastropub, but the quality of the service makes it worthwhile

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good meal, attentive service, decent wine selection and just round the corner from my home. Also a good car park. Thanks to the South African waiter

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningwell, Oxford
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service - a local's view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We’ve lived in Sunningwell for over 10 years now and have sometimes enjoyed (but more often endured) a variety of incarnations of the Flowing well. However, we have been delighted with the latest, now run by Matt and his excellent team after a big makeover. The pub’s much busier than it ever was before, which creates a more buzzy atmosphere than it’s had for a long time. We eat there nearly every week and love the mix of styles of food on the menu – the pizzas are great, good pub staples such as burgers and fish & chips, amazing puddings (the strawberry parfait with honeycomb was particularly special and anything with shortbread is to die for) and there are always some interesting specials as well. The food is freshly cooked and with the new open pass, you can watch the kitchen team in action. There’s a decent wine selection by the glass, and decent selection (and guest) ales on tap. At the end of August we hired the restaurant for a private party and the team catered for about 90. The helped us plan the details, the food was absolutely superb, and no detail was left undone. They looked after us and our guests brilliantly – I lost count of the compliments about the food and the service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely evening!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I went to the flowing well with some friends the other evening and what an experience! The food was impeccable, beautifully presented and fantastic flavours were exquisite and all of us enjoyed our food. On top of that the service was excellent, both the southafrican waiter and our waitress cleona were attentive and our every need was dealt with. The manager Matthew was friendly, funny and extremely kind, he checked twice how we were and had a lovely conversation with him which made our experience even more comfortable. All in all I was incredibly happy and will deffinately be back in the future.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flowing Well also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Flowing Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flowing Well, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.