We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White House Bed & Breakfast

The White House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The White House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Faringdon Road | Shippon, Abingdon OX13 6LW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked three rooms at The White House for family members for our Daughter’s wedding. David and Judy were most welcoming and we had unlimited access to our rooms and the gardens. It was wonderful. We sat in the garden making wedding decorations – in other places we would have been confined to our rooms. Breakfast was when we wanted it and what we wanted – such a refreshing change. After the wedding reception we sat in the kitchen drinking tea at 01:00 in the morning.
Thank you David & Judy for making our stay a real “Home from Home” experience – it certainly assisted in making the wedding weekend wonderful for us.
This may not be a "template chain" and there are certainly some quirky architectural points - but what else would you expect from a listed building!
The loft room has a huge bathroom/dressing room, but no shower - which would be very hard to fit in the eaves! The showers in the two bathrooms on the first floor were excellent and only just at the bottom of the stairs to our room.
I would recommend The White House without hesitation.

Room Tip: The en-suite loft room is lovely, accessed via a tight curving staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Heacham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just one night here while visiting Oxford. Lovely house in a quiet area. Reasonable rate for double room (with 2 shared bathrooms), which was large and comfortable. Hosts very obliging. Fresh milk for tea very much appreciated, though a mini fridge or small flask would be good, as it didn't last the night (but encouraged to refill from kitchen, which I did, so no probs). Breakfast fab! Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here over night, the bedroom in the eaves, charming room in this 500 year old cottage. The owners are very friendly and made me feel very welcome. The only thing that spoiled it for me was there was no shower in the Ensuite just a bath, they could do with updating the bathroom.
On the whole a very good experience and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in the loft room. Very clean and tidy room with lovely room features. David was very welcoming and the breakfast was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. B and B has lovely garden and i would stay at this b and b again if in Abingdon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spent the night here before attending an early morning meeting and was impressed by the accommodation and service. The hosts were lovely, talking about the property and business, The property was beautiful, set back a little from the road(despite directions I missed it on the first pass!), lovely period styling, with wooden beams, you enter through the kitchen and dining room and up some stairs to the first level, my room was up a further set of stairs in the loft, but was huge with a massive en-suite. I won't pretend the decor was modern, but everywhere was clean and really added to the charming feel of the place, there was a reasonable amount of parking at the front and large garden at the rear. I missed a cooked breakfast due to an early start, but a place had been laid for me when I got up with cereals, yogurt, fruit and toast available. Modern flat screen TV in the room and Tea and coffee.
The only reason I haven't given five stars, was my en-suite lacked a shower, meaning waiting to use a shared bathroom in the morning, and also the lack of locks on room doors and steepness of the stair cases(both add to the charm of the place, but perhaps wouldn't suit all guests!) Beware low beams/doors!!!

All in all a lovely place to stay, and if your an aviation fan as I am, its right by Dalton Barracks (formerly RAF Abingdon) and the owner has a good knowledge about the base/airshows. I would have no hesitation in staying again if in the area.

Room Tip: Loft en suite had no shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed last weekend. We found this BB to be very comfortable and run by a lovely couple. It was very relaxed and friendly. Lovely big room in a great location. Also very good value. Excellent breakfast and great customer service and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here over the August bank holiday 2012 for one night and found it very comfortable and relaxing. It was clean, tidy and well-maintained in general, and the kingsize bed we had in the loft room was neither too hard nor too soft for us. Breakfast was plentiful and well-cooked by Judy and fairly generous with several repeat offers of more toast, tea and coffee. The gardens are lovely and if the weather hadn't been so wet we would have enjoyed them more. The house was easy-access at any time of day, with a hidden front-door key. Tip: they accept cash or cheques, but not bank card payments.

Room Tip: Loft room in main house has ensuite, not sure about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Faringdon Road | Shippon, Abingdon OX13 6LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.