We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Worksop
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrogate
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Free Upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2012 and was upgraded on arrival. The room was large, warm and comfy. The bathroom was massive, although not particularly modern in decor.

I didn't have breakfast but the restaurant looked nice. The bar area was lovely and the service was prompt and friendly.

Overall, good value for money and a really pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    118
    39
    15
    5
See reviews for
31
197
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned fron a Groupon Deal at the Lion Hotel Worksop. Fantastic value, the hotel is lovely, the bar area is very comfortable, our room was fantastic. Room 208 is massive, very clean lovely bathroom with bath, bidet and shower king size bed with sitting area and lots of tea and coffee .
The staff are really really helpful and very pleasant, the receptionist very chatty, the waitress in the restaurant very amiable and chattywith nothing too much trouble. The young man at breakfast very efficient and accomodating.
The meal in the restaurant was good quality and very enjoyable the restaurant well decorated it was just a pity there was just my husband and myself booked in as it would have had a better atmosphere if more people were in.
The breakfast was one of the best we,ve had freshly cooked full breakfast brought to our table, plenty of choice of juices cereals meats and fruit.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After visiting this hotel this weekend i must say i was very pleased with all aspects of our stay.
The staff are friendly and go out of there way to make your stay stress free.
We had 2 little hiccups which i know to some people may have felt was a real bind, but because everything else was 100% it made it feel like it wasn't a problem.
The first hiccup was the room change due to the toilet not flushing and no cold water in the sink,but when i phoned reception they were there in a few minutes with a different room.
(We had to take everything with us from that room as the other wasn't made up with towels.e.c.t).
The second hiccup was that the lovely restaurant that we had wanted to eat in was not open due to a birthday party in the function room,so we had a bar meal instead.
This was not a problem as the meal was very well presented and for the cost was well above quality of a normal bar meal of the same price.
Also the hotel is close to the local shops and had a small market just down the road.
If you are after a stress free weekend break i would certainly go back as you would not need to leave the building as they cater for all tastes, and the room are mixed old and new with tv tea and coffee making facilities and free wi fi.
Even after the couple of hiccups i would come back here again and again had a lovely relaxing break with my husband.
Well done the the LION'S staff you make the place what it is.

Room Tip: we stayed in 206 lovely room but very warm even without the heating on
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I have just returned from a weekend here, he got it on a groupon deal I think. On arrival to room 306 there was a bunch of flowers, chocolates and a bottle of wine waiting on the table, apparently part of the Romance Package he was offered, a lovely touch for my birthday. The room was HUGE, too single beds attached together, very comfortable, clean, spacious, with an almost separate sitting area of armchair and sofa. The bathroom, again huge sported a bath tub stand alone shower and a bidet (where I kept my flowers thanks!) . Tea making facilities on hand, lovely hot chocolate and biscuits, the fridge didn't seem to work but that's ok, we didn't need it. Plus there was free wifi in the room, a nice touch.

There was a wedding party going on but we couldn't hear it in the room, the curtains had blackout blinds too (very rare) so I actually slept! Also the room was lovely and warm, with a spare blow heater should you need it. The whole hotel was new ish and therefore well conditioned,we did not eat dinner here.

Breakfast was faultless, a hot and cold buffet was served Saturday morning and a la carte on Sunday, no complaints.

Not much to do in worksop though but we visited the nearby Sherwood Forrest and Bakewell in the Peak District, having my birthday dinner at Lambs At the Market in Mansfield. Well recommended, all around.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Never been to Worksop before and had no desire too either but buying the deal from groupon made us go and see. We were not dissapointed in the market town and especially the hotel. What a joy to stay there, staff were friendly and extremely helpful, to the extent that when I requested a quiet room they fully cooperated and we got one. The room was excellent and all the facilities clean and comfortable. The food we had in the hotel was not only good it was really good value for money. Railway station 15mins walk which we used to go to Lincoln, could also go to Sheffield but Lincoln won. Would definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent a nice weekend in worksop staying at the lion hotel. The staff were very efficient and friendly, room and facilities were fine. On the 1st evening we dined in 114 grill and whilst the food was good the service was very slow which spoiled the evening. On the 2nd evening we dined in 108 restaurant again the food was very good and the prices reasonable but the service was so slow. Four tables taken in restaurant (8 people) but it took 1 hour and 5 minutes before our starter arrived. The main course was also slow to be served.Time got the better of us so no sweets ordered. The staff apologised for the poor service, offered complimentary drinks and a discount on the meal price and stated there was a function in an adjoining room. We would stay at the hotel again but next time maybe we eat out.

Room Tip: room 205 on front of hotel but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good value for money but there are times when you would pay more for better. My first room, noisy burtreception called on the room phone asking was it all ok? I mentioned "noisy" so quick as you like they changed my room. Be careful what you wish for- next room smelled musty and horrid but was massive. Worn furniture and a sleepless night due to blue flashing tv light that could not be turned off, vent outside humming all night and a spring ridden mattress that has left me indented for a few days. Got an hours sleep all night. Breakfast at 8.50am. Due to being completely worn out with no sleep. Fell asleep at 8.00am ( Sod's law). Girl in bar " made me feel uncomfortable" as late for breakfast at 8.50am? Asked for two poached eggs soft with sausage and mushroom - they brought two breakfasts as chef made error. I would rather have had none as the eggs were really hard and the whole lot was stewed and no freshness at all. Cups of tea was nice. Although these guys tried and it is a 3 star hotel it was disappointing. No problem with the price but I would have liked a good sleep and a decent breakfast - both did not happen. Good points were excellent staff on reception and duty manager on the night.Room was not really clean to be honest and I felt a bit like I had to put a towel on the sofa to sit down. Chef was not on the ball that morning but waiting staff really pleasant. Weigh it up, for 3 star perhaps it gets by. The staff carry the place as the facility is not really up to any quality but it is not expensive. If I go back, and I would, I would like a better mattress, cleaner room and properly cooked breakfast. The rest is fine for the 3 star rating.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

Address: 112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Worksop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Worksop, a central location for all major attractions in the South Yorkshire region. We offer excellent services and facilities and have a 3 star AA rating and a Silver Green Tourism Award.The hotel is superbly located close to the A1, M1 and A57 road networks. It is also easily accessible by train with Worksop Train Station just 2 minutes drive away. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport.Situated in the quaint market town of Worksop the Best Western Lion Hotel has 46 ensuite bedrooms, 115 bar & grill serving delicious home made dished what have been carefully selected by our talented head chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.