We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service. Well done Kirk and team!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Worksop
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service. Well done Kirk and team!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked three rooms for two nights on a room only basis whilst attending a wedding. The rooms were spotless and well maintained. The beds were very good quality. Our was a double which was two seperate matresses zipped together. The only drawback was that the matress protectors were plastic which made you sweat at night.

The bar areas are modern and well furnished with a good selection of draft and Keg beers. The bar staff were freindly too.

The Wedding breakfast was exceptional! The food was served quickly and accurately, skillfully coriagraphed by the Duty Manager Kirk.

We didn't have breakfast but I am told by fellow guest is was excellent. There are however several good eateries within yards of the Hotel where breakfast can be purchased from less than £2.00.

The Hotel is right in the centre of the Market Town of Worksop very close to Sherwood Forest and associated parks.

Overall this was a great place to stay. All staff were very freindly and helpful. Worthy of special mention is Kirk the duty manager. Who grafted all day and night setting a great example for the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    103
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
25
164
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I've stayed at The Lion several times on business trips and keep returning.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. This time I got an executive room which is very big and comfortable, with sofa, minibar, etc.
The staff are always helpful and friendly.
Food in the bar is ok - have not tried the resturant.
Will no doubt be back again soon...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

clean, comfortable and excellent location.
Had an excellent couple of nights in Worksop and slept well because of comfy bed no noise . We visit the area regularly due to family living nearby so shall definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Check in was easy. Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff were cheerful and attentive. Plenty of parking as ours was a weekend stay. Food was very good, we had bed and breakfast . On the Sunday morning it was a buffet breakfast but staff were on hand and attentive. Fire alarms sounded twice due to guest burning their toast. A good stay and already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed in this unlikely location as we were visiting friends who live 6 miles away from this hotel so it seemed like a good choice.
We arrived at 12.30pm so unfortunatly our room wasn't ready however the staff did try their best to hurry the housekeeping staff along. We parked the car in the free car park which was very handy and were given the key to room 306 at 1.15pm. We were in an executive double and it was huge with a fab bathroom and a lounge area. There were two big windows in the room which we opened immediately as the heat on this floor was totally oppressive. The radiators were not on in the room and there is a fan in the room so this must be a regular problem. The lower floors felt slightly cooler but our room was roasting. With all the windows open and the fan on it was bearable however i'd hat to think what it was like of the weather outside was red hot.
However the hotel was immaculate with a really comfy bed and shower cubicle with lashings of hot water. The reception on the plasma tv left a lot to be desired however we weren;t there to watch the telly.
Our breakfast in the morning was more than adequate with a self serve hot breakfast rather than silver service. We didn;t try the evening meal however the menu sounded delicious with a 4 course dinner for £28.
We didn't spen a whole lot of time in the hotel as we came to visit friends however for the time that we spent in the hotel it was extremely clean and pleasant. Right in the town centre of Worksop so handy for all the shops etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We have stayed in many hotels, but chose this hotel as its not far from Centre Parks where we spent the day at the SPA.

Upon arrival the car park is located behind the hotel, we checked in and recd a warm welcome from Tina, it was a simple check in procedure.
We had booked the Romantic package so we got the Firbeck Suite and dinner in 108 restaurant. I asked Tina at Check in whether food was prepacked - everyhing was cooked from scratch so there was a delay for food.

Upon getting to our room, we were very impressed with it, plus the size of the bathroom and the fantastic power shower. Tina called our room to ensure everythin was how it should be - very good customer service.

We had our 5 course dinner in 108, which was lovely shame about the ambience - we took our deserts and coffee in the lounge, as we were fed up of listening to the posh snobs conversation, as the restaurant wasnt busy - food lovely and very obliging catering for my needs.

Breakfast was lovely and the staff were so helpful - its so nice to be served by english friendly staff.

all in all we had a fantastic stay and would definetly return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I have now stayed three times at this Hotel in the last six months. The last time was in February 2010. Each time the rooms have been great, the food to the highest standard, and most importantly, the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel

Address: 112 - 114 Bridge Street, Worksop S80 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Worksop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Worksop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Worksop, a central location for all major attractions in the South Yorkshire region. We offer excellent services and facilities and have a 3 star AA rating and a Silver Green Tourism Award.The hotel is superbly located close to the A1, M1 and A57 road networks. It is also easily accessible by train with Worksop Train Station just 2 minutes drive away. The hotel is only 30 minutes away from Doncaster Sheffield International Airport.Situated in the quaint market town of Worksop the Best Western Lion Hotel has 46 ensuite bedrooms, 115 bar & grill serving delicious home made dished what have been carefully selected by our talented head chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worksop
Worksop Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.