We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King William IV

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
King William IV
Blyth Road | Nr Worksop, Worksop, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 85 Restaurants in Worksop
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Prior to the introduction of the all you can eat buffet, this was a place you could go to enjoy a good quality pub meal, where you felt as if you had been somewhere special. It seems that they have cut back on the quality of food in order to keep the prices down. The Billy used to have a good reputation among the local community for it's chips but even these have lost their quality. The regular staff have disappeared which is strange as they had been around for years. I've gone back a few times over the last year in the hope that my experience had been a one off but sadly I won't bother trying again. As previous reviews state, it is ping ping meals on the cheap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    9
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Retford, Notts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Going Down-n-n!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was one of our regular Friday evening eating places, but that was before the Eat All You Can buffets! It was a civilised atmosphere, but now crammed with people wandering around with skip loads of fish, pies, sausages, chips peas etc. It's swarming, you can't get a table, you can't get served, you can't move for kids, in fact it's probably been designated a Brewers Fayre kiddy pub they issue so many vouchers for Kids eat free.
We were regular customers, now we're following all the staff guys and gals we knew who have bailed out and left. Fancy a meal here? Get some old clothes on and bring ear plugs - Oh and don't try to argue with the Manager, the Customer's never right.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Being a local. We decided to go to the king billy as its hard to see how somewhere so busy could be a bad place to eat. We were proven wrong immediately. The bar was quite busy and it took a long time to be served. We hadn't booked so had a short wait for a table. We only ordered main meals but these were not the best. The food was obviously just frozen and reheated. I bet if you looked in the kitchen it would just be a deep fryer and a row of microwaves. If you are in the area and want decent home cooked food. Go to the blue bell in Carlton. Much better all round!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to brave the snow,and drove out to the King Billy as known locally. It is usually very busy,on a Sunday lunch time,but maybe due to the weather it was very quiet. We were shown to our table,and saw that most of the diners were enjoying the carvery . We had a voucher buy one get one free which included a starter excellent value. We went for the homemade minestrone soup with warm crusty roll. This was thick tasty and delicious. After a short break,we then approached the the carvery. A choice of gammon,beef and normally turkey,but due to running out they had replaced this with a butterfly chicken breast. An excellent choice of over 6 fresh veg to choose from including crispy roast potatoes. The meal was piping hot,and couldn't have tasted better. Staff were friendly attentive and happy to give a first class service. A lovely way to spend a snowy afternoon. We shall def visit again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“50% off food voucher was brilliant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Ate here at King William IV this evening (18/01/13) along with 7 friends and one of the friend's 5 year old son after receiving a voucher via email for 50% off food. Ate here before but wasn't that impressed so just kept in mind that it was a cheap meal out. Arrived to a quiet atmosphere as the snow was in force so it seemed much quieter than I would guess from a Friday evening. The tables we'd booked in advance were ready straight away. All meals were out in decent time and were cooked to requirements. Another bonus was the polite, cheerful and helpful staff. Yes it's your typical chain pub food but we all agreed we would return, with another fantastic offer voucher.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King William IV also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to King William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King William IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.