We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Buildings & Setting - Worst Chocolate Cake EVER!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasantry Brewery

The Pheasantry Brewery
High Brecks Farm | Lincoln Road, East Markham, Markham Moor NG22 0SN, England
01777-872728
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
newark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Buildings & Setting - Worst Chocolate Cake EVER!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Took my friend today for a latte and cake - we both ordered the same (there was only chocolate cake available, despite the menu saying selection of homemade cakes). It came. Coffee great, cake awful, service disinterested. The cake was in 3 layers with filling between. The outside was scorched, and the cake was dry and did not have a good flavour. We didn't eat it after the first mouthful. The proprietor wandered past, so I caught her attention and said that the cake was disappointing. To her credit, she immediately apologised and offered a refund. It is a shame that after all the effort and expense that has clearly been put into this enterprise, it has been let down by a poor product. Maybe the other food is better? I won't be coming back to find out. This has huge potential as a wedding venue and could be incredible on so many levels. Sort out the food and you will have a winner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    27
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely beer ! But food needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The food needs refining here, the chips were awful ... Not good at all. The soup tasted of nothing. The chicken salad was dry. The fish was cold.
To charge the prices they do the food needs to come up to scratch.
The staff were informed at the time..... Not that they cared !
The redeeming feature was the beer was lovely, the court yard and bar very pretty. - SORT THE FOOD and it will be a gold mine

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“This place is top dollar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food choice is limited but what they do they do first rate add to this their own brewery on site producing ales and lager, I thought I had died and gone to Real Ale lovers paradise.

The menu seemed to be normal pub type grub but when it arrived at the table it was far from that the service was great and the staff so willing to help. the place is only small so its worth booking. When we had sunk several of their real ales we were able to buy a mini keg to take home which they fresh fill from the hand pumps. I only wish this place was on my doorstep instead of my sons, looking forward to my real ale kegs this Christmas already!!

There is several outside areas including a courtyard with tables and chairs and then more tables and childrens activities in the garden at the side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely sunny courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped here for a quick drink on a sunny afternoon. Lovely sheltered purity are to sit and enjoy a lovely vanilla latte. Staff very pleasant, surrounding peaceful with just the hum of the brewery. Soft drinks seemed a little expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great real ale.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fantastic lunch today, chicken and beef, both of the very highest quality. Dark ale and pale ale from the on site brewery were very pleasant. Shame I could only have a half because of the car. 20° in the courtyard, great food, great ale, what more could we have asked for. A must!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasantry Brewery also viewed

Markham Moor, Nottinghamshire
Tuxford, Nottinghamshire
 
Tuxford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Pheasantry Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasantry Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.