We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent olde country Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Markham Moor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Markham Moor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Markham Moor Inn
Save
You added Markham Moor Inn to your Saves list
Old Great North Road, Markham Moor DN22 0QU, England (Formerly Markham Hotel & Restaurant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Markham Moor B&B and Inns
St. George, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Excellent olde country Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This is an old stage inn off the Great North Road. It is fully modernized and was a pleasure to stay in. Parking is easy, the rooms were clean, well appointed, and spacious. If you come, stay for dinner. Food is really very very good, and the full English the next morning impressed all of us, including the lady who did not usually care for it.

Room Tip: You must be able to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Visited the area for the weekend for a family birthday. Booked into this pub as we were eating here in the evening and thought it would be convenient. Rooms were a lovely size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. Also got a special offer for eating in the restaurant making the whole stay very reasonable. Food was very good standard and bar area was comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to book here again next time I am in the area

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Looking for B & B between Lincoln and Retford, I came across the Markham Moor Inn with reasonable rates and a wide choice of accommodation to suit most families. Rooms are available as singles, twin, doubles and family rooms. Some are without en-suite all have good tea and coffee making facilities. A full English breakfast is available and is included in the price. The ingredients were fresh and full of flavour. The staff were very welcoming and there was a very nice atmosphere everywhere was well presented and clean. There is a restaurant available for evening meals but it is advisable to pre book a table as they can get very popular.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a one night stay here, arrived early evening, on our way North. The staff were very welcoming. The room was fine, comfortable and roomy. We didn't eat, just a drink, had an early night. Breakfast was good, served by a very pleasant lady, no complaints from us. We found it just what we wanted for our stopover. The restaurant was fully booked, obviously very popular.

Room Tip: Room 6. It was by the Old North Road, yes, there was a bit of traffic noise. However, I don't kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Recently went for family meal and was very disappointed by the customer service received. We were greeted by the head waiter who had no personality and was very matter of fact. We preordered the meals and one starter was missing. We were told it was our fault and definitely not their mistake. We were not sure who made the mistake but that's not the point they could have handled it better. The food came out and was good but we were only given 2 bowls or veg and chips between 8 people which was very tight, chips don't cost must surely. We asked if we could have another bowl and the waitress said she didn't know and would ask ????
I work in customer service myself and would never speak to customers in this way. The staff are very young and need some customer service training in my opinion. This spoilt what should have been a good family meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura H, Owner at Markham Moor Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very disappointed that our customer service failed to meet your expectations. Nevertheless, there are several issues with your review that we strongly disagree with.

You were served ALL food items which you had pre-ordered in good time.

You had forgotten to order one of your party’s starters but this mistake was promptly rectified, the additional food arriving only minutes after the rest. In relation to the chips, I’m not sure what quantities you were expecting but there were certainly enough for 8 people. When you asked for additional chips, these also arrived within minutes and were free of charge.

Your comment as to the personality of our Restaurant Manager is ridiculous and offensive. He is a valued member of our team and a great friend to many of our guests. Of course the waitress had to ask the kitchen whether it was feasible for additional food items to be sent as our Chefs have other food orders to deal with.

In summary, you were served in a prompt manner, your mistake was rectified and we sent additional chips during a busy restaurant service free of charge - yet your family meal was somehow ruined??

You did not raise an issue at the time or privately via phone or e-mail following your meal, which is very surprising considering you have a background in customer service. You also left a £6 tip.

We always take constructive criticism on board but this review clearly highlights how TripAdvisor is open to misuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Well this was a surprise , a must try this hotel, the food is something else, very well presented and excellent quality. Staff very friendly, will definitely go again. Rooms very comfortable. Don't under estimate this venue , it's not just a pub, I recommend booking the restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lunch and breakfast very good, accommodation homely and very comfortable. Staff very friendly and efficient. Varied menu, dining room well laid out. Large garden and patio area, child friendly. Would have no problem in booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: not all rooms are en suite, so make sure you request bathroom when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Markham Moor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markham Moor Inn

Address: Old Great North Road, Markham Moor DN22 0QU, England (Formerly Markham Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Markham Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Markham Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Markham Moor Inn offers understated sophistication on the Nottinghamshire border and delivers two elegant restaurants, a lounge bar, a public bar and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Markham Moor Inn Nottinghamshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markham Moor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.