We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 'local'!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Browns

Browns
The Old Quarry | Berry Hill, Mansfield, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 123 restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Our 'local'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have visited Browns on numerous occasions since moving house to the quarry in Jan 2012. This is the perfect place to chill out after work, have an intimate meal with the other half or to socialise with friends.
We've had breakfast, lunch & dinner; all of which were presented beautifully and cooked to perfection.
The decor is a modern twist on contemporary yet quirky with tasteful background music. Staff are friendly and attentive with only the odd occasion where we have waited longer than we are accustomed to. The price of a pint is steep but this is easily chargeable due to location & minimum competition - a happy hour would be appreciated though! Meal offers are available throughout the week. We would thoroughly recommend Browns to family & friends.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    5
    5
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had been told about this restaurant from a friend and we decided to go for lunch. There was a good choice on the menu and the food was very good. The decor was unusual but the place had a good atmosphere. Would go back and try the evening menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been to Browns twice now. The first time was with the girls and I had pizza which I wouldn't recommend - it tasted so bland like something was missing. I visited again with my husband for an early dinner (around 5.30pm) and it was pretty busy with young families and children so a little noisy with food all over the floor! The bar area is lovely but the restaurant part is tiny. I would describe the food as ok - I wouldn't rush back. The food is much better at The Countryman in Kirkby and Rose Cottage.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I visited Browns for a get together with the girls and i couldnt have been more impressed. We were greeted by the barman who kept us entertained with cocktails all night, before being directed into the restuarant by the welcoming waitress.
The service in the restaurant was very smooth and the food was fantastic.
We couldnt have asked for a better night out.
Thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield South Yorks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“About time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We ate here on the recommendation of a friend and were rewarded with an excellent meal. We ate from the 'Early Bird' menu - which is excellent value without scrimping on the quality. Nicely buzzing for a Monday evening - the bistro has been beautifully decorated for the Christmas season and has a cosy quirky feel to it. The staff were polite and attentive without being intrusive. There is a real shortage of quality places to eat in this area - delighted that someone has decided to fill the gap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Browns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.