We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 281 Restaurant and Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 281 Restaurant and Rooms to your Saves list
281 Restaurant and Rooms
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   281-283 Nottingham Road, Mansfield NG18 4SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hospital with a lovely breakfast included bar open till late and free wi-fi

We stayed in a room with a double and one single was very specious, water in the bathroom perfect temperature.

Very happy with our stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
22
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed over on a Friday night for a wedding party and the rooms were fine and the rates reasonable. Nothing outstanding but a very comfortable and pleasant stay. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Friends and family stayed overnight after a family party held in the hotel, The party, which was for around fifty people, was excellent, Staff could not do enough for us. The food was also very good, had a hot buffet that was served to us, delicious.

The bedroom we had was really nice and spotlessly clean with a good hot shower. Would recommend the excellent breakfast.

Will certainly be back, probably for an evening meal.
.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

17th October saw me celebrating my 70th birthday with family and friends at this venue. Having not celebrated any of my life's previous decades this was a first for me. The owners were friendly and helpful. They offered ideas and advice but were willing to cater for any of my needs and wants. The buffet was excellent. The wine was reasonably priced and the fizz for the toast was ready as promised. We were able to enjoy our own choice of recorded and live music plus have plenty of room for dancing. I had a great time and so did all my guests. I understand the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast good. I highly recommend this venue for any celebratory event.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Welcoming owner\friendly helpful staff.,clean/light/tidy quiet rear 1st floor refurbished bedroom.
Brilliant cooked to order full English breakfast in tastefully decorated dining room.I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel & if in this area again will stay here.Good value.

Room Tip: Ask for rear refurbished b/room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

There's a disclaimer saying you have no connection to the establishment that you are reviewing. Believe me I have no axe to grind here!! The food in this place is the best value and quality that I have had in a long time travelling the length of this country. I had the haddock chowder this evening and I can honestly say that it's one of the finest starters I have ever had. I followed that with the sirloin steak in Stilton sauce. A steaks a steak you might think. Think again. This was fantastic too!! Couldn't fit a dessert in. Maybe next time. My whole dining experience was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lisa has done a wonderful job with this hotel. We have been staying here for years as my family live in the area. It has been refurbished to a very high standard. Rooms are being done one by one. The food is fantastic. I have no hesitation in reccomending this small friendly hotel. If you are passing drop in for lunch or early bird menu or just for a drink. You will not be dissapointed.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing.

Room Tip: you can ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 281 Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 281 Restaurant and Rooms

Address: 281-283 Nottingham Road, Mansfield NG18 4SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 281 Restaurant and Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
281 Restaurant & rooms Hotel is rated 3-star by the Tourism Council. All rooms are en-suite, with digital TV. We aim to provide, comfortable rooms, home cooked food and a warm welcome. We are within a 10 minutes drive of Hollinwell, Coxmoor and Sherwood golf clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 281 Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 281 Restaurant and Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.