We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Gate

Red Gate
Westfield Lane, Mansfield, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 131 Restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Public House but part of building a restaurant.
nottinghamshire
1 review
“Christmas day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Best christmas dinner ever the staff are truly profesional in how they look after everyone and nothing is to much for them a warm smile and happy atmosphere,very relaxing like veing in your own home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    34
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We go to Redgate often for lunch, Sunday lunch or dinner and always receive a friendly welcome. Amy and Jason are great hosts. This visit was for our family Christmas dinner having been to Lambs last year and No:4 Wood st year before we were hoping for something special. The Redgate exceeded our expectations and we booked on the day for next year and would highly recommend you do too. The room and tables were set beautifully and had a great ambiance. Each meal was prepared fresh and they use locally sourced produce where possible. For Christmas dinner the meal was very reasonably priced and you could tell all the hard work the staff had put in to every detail. We spent 5 1/2 hours in there eating but it didn't feel rushed or like you were waiting ages between courses they got everything just right. The "parcel" we received for the "carve your own turkey" was a great touch and added to the fun. I feel so lucky to have this as my local. A huge thank you to all the staff you made our Christmas day perfect we could not have asked for more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visited midweek in November for lunch and received a friendly welcome. Room is lovely and was fairly quiet. We only had a drink and main courses but the food was excellent and the service spot on. I went for the steak pie and my wife chose the chicken curry. It's definitely not somewhere to go if you are looking for fast food but there is plenty of warning that each meal is prepared fresh and we are happy to wait a little longer when the food is this good.

Highly recommended, very reasonably priced and we will definitely return in the near future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

A party of 4 went here on Saturday evening.
Service was attentive without being overbearing.
All the food was great, pigeon starters and shin of beef particularly good.
All in all a great meal and experience would recommend

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Food - Booking essential for small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Fine dining menu for Mansfield - Pigeon, venison and duck not on many menus in Mansfield! and beautifully cooked but served with a portion of potato which could feed a family for a week and spoilt the appearance of the meal and took away the "fine dining" feel. The quality of food throughout the meal was first class. if you like a pre meal drink be prepared to have this in the traditional public bar which is nice but you can feel over dressed if in your "dining out" glad rags!! Will definitely visit again and now we know what to expect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Gate also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Red Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.