We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monsoon
33,Midworth St, Mansfield, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 131 Restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant, good customer service and fantastic food.

Myself and my fella decided to try Monsoon as we had never ventured there before. The food tasted fresh, there was lots on the plate and the naan was do soft and moreish. The food did not take too long to be cooked and in the mean time the staff were ensuring we had enough to drink. Overall I would say this is our favourite Indian in Mansfield.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulidford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Better than some others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not the greatest but not bad either. Food and service all good but it did lack a bit of flavour. I would return but wouldnt go out of my way to go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went along with 4 other friends for an evening out (Friday). The restaurant was busy, but not too crowded and had a nice vibe. The food was outstanding, the best Indian food I've ever had. Very impressed with the service and whole round experience. Food was also reasonably priced. Would recommend to anybody!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“keep away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

its all convenience food, I had a mixed grill and everything that was on my plate I have brought the exact same food myself from Asian shops. the curry sauce that came with the grill is some sort of instant rubbish that a lot of indian restuarants are now using
the tandoori chicken was a tiny leg/thigh that tasted bland along with the rest of the food. and I have never had such small nan breads, I had to ask for another.
go else where for a curry because they can not get any worse than this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best local Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been regulars at the Monsoon for a while and always find the food and service to be of a very high standard. The food is a little out of the run of the mill and the owner is happy to talk about and recommend dishes to the less experienced diner. Service is slick but unobtrusive Really nothing more to say

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.