We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mint Indian Restaurant

The Mint Indian Restaurant
Clerkson Street, Mansfield, England
01623659911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 131 Restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I can say that the restaurant lived up to its reputation. If you want a very reasonable meal based on price, then the mint is for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    22
    18
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

When entering the restaurant we were warmly welcomed and made to feel very well. Staff were on form and friendly. Lovely atmosphere.

Tried some of the specials from the menu and they were excellent, full of flavour and served in good time.

Overall we had a really nice evening as a family and will definitely be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to start:

I was expecting a nice laid back restaurant atmosphere, but it was extremely rowdy with many very drunk people in there.

The Starter was cold, it was busy and I was very hungry - So I ate it.

I had my fingers crossed for the main course!

I had a meal from the chefs specialities - it tasted like tomato sauce, with an onion cut into 4, with about 5 pieces of chicken. It was served in a white breakfast type bowl, that had dried curry sauce on the edges (like it had just come out of the microwave). When I complained it was cold, the waiter did nt look surprised nor did he apologise. He just passed it to someone else and asked them to warm it up. 2 minutes later it came back warmer. (I'm sure I could hear the microwave ping!)
On a positive note the naan bread was nice.
We complained to the waiter who apologised and said the kitchen could nt cope with a full restaurant and gave us the meal half price. it seemed even the manager was too busy to deal with the complaint as he was nowhere to be seen! The waiter was very apologetic but I was nt looking for a 'cheap' meal, I'm prepared to pay for a decent meal.
I don't feel like I got a bargain, I feel liked I wasted an opportunity to eat a nice meal!

I can't really say how disappointed we were with this restaurant. We d read the reviews and was expecting a lot more. I really doubt these reviews are all genuine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We keep coming back! Not much to fault & good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fantastic food. Only problem is that it is sometimes a bit noisy and all in one big room. But lovely friendly staff and we keep coming back time and time again because it's the best indian in the area!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just not good at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Struggle to see how it has won awards, or get good reviews. Not even close to average. Went on a voucher, but even then it was too much for the quality of what we got. Distinctly unimpressed. So many better places to eat, can't imagine I'd think about going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mint Indian Restaurant also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Mint Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mint Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.