We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homely well run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansfield Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mansfield Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Mansfield Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27 Woodhouse Road, Mansfield NG18 2AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A homely well run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was working away and found this hotel on the web,it was a very comfortable and warm hotel,and didn't have any issues in the 4 nights I stayed here,I didn't dine in the hotel because there was plenty of establishments on the doorstep and I was meeting friends,but the breakfast was really nice and plentiful.
All in all a very good find and I recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
12
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights while visiting friends in the area, I booked through booking.com, originally I was going to get a single bedroom but the price difference was only £6 per night so I opted for the double.
I was delayed in arriving and got there just as the reception was closing but I had phoned ahead and was told it wouldn't be a problem, and it wasn't. There was ample parking even though the hotel was full.
The room was a long way from the reception but was clearly sign posted, when we got there I was pleasantly surprised, it was spacious, plenty of cupboard space, drawers, cabinets and a double wardrobe, there was a table in the corner with 2 comfy chairs, the bed was nice and comfortable and everything was very clean, the bathroom was immaculate, the towels were good quality and everything worked, nothing was broken, the shower was nice and powerful, unlike some places you go to and all you get is a lil trickle, this was very good, there was even a built in hot air blower/hair dryer which started automatically when you lifted the nozzle out of the cradle:)
The room temperature was nice and comfortable, slightly on the warm side but nothing that having a window open wouldn't cure.
There was a nice guide in a leather bound folder with all the relevant information included, there was a flat screen TV on the wall and facilities for making hot drinks.
The staff are all very friendly and attentive, I woke up late on the first morning I was there and missed breakfast by about half an hour or so, I asked if I could grab a bowl or cereal and was told yes, of course, whilst I was eating a member of staff asked if I wanted some toast which I gratefully accepted, I was also offered a hot drink.
I returned to my room and it had been cleaned and the bed made while I was gone.
I went for a walk and the gardens well extremely well maintained, in the summer it will be lovely to sit outside.
I had dinner in the restaurant that night, it was very good and reasonably priced.
Next morning I woke up in time for breakfast and the quality was very good even if the portion was a lil on the small side but bearing in mind, there is also cereal, porridge, yoghurt, toast and fruit available to have in addition, it wasn't a major issue.
Check out time is 11am, which gave me plenty of time to have breakfast and get ready with out rushing or having to do it all the night before.
My only complaints are that breakfast finishes too early, the smoking area is right by the front door and wasn't nice having to walk through a wall of smoke when coming in and I left some things behind, and haven't been contacted.
So all in all, a very nice place to stay, well worth the money, very good value.

Room Tip: I would be quite happy to stay in the same room, being in the basement just means it's quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a business course.
Excellent hotel for the price and the food was delicious, also at a good price.
I would recommend this hotel and I would stay again if in the area.

Paul

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Superb location, ample parking, great value for money, amazing showers, good service (cracking sandwiches) and yummy breakfast!! Close to town centre. Can't fault the place, we would certainly use again if in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here over a two week period on business - 6 nights in total. This is a really comfortable hotel. The rooms are spacious, warm and very comfortable - great shower in Room 2. The manager is a trained chef and produces a weekly menu - 2 courses for £12.00. The breakfast fruit salad is fantastic - strawberries and grapes. There is a very comfortable residents lounge which I was able to use to work in, in the evenings and the bar is welcoming and prices and drinks choices are very good. The food is plentiful and superbly cooked and presented. A little gem - this hotel! If I'm working in this area again I shall definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My colleagues and I have stayed a number of times now, mostly for work engagements, which took us to Mansfield. This family owned and run hotel is close to the town centre, walking distance in fact, the rooms are warm, clean and airy, and the food is superb. I highly recommend the pan fried chicken in pepper corn sauce, scrumptious. The staff are very polite and always helpful, despite us often making requests for additional items, like printing something out, or could we have more milk for our tea tray. Breakfast is included in the room prices and there is an eclectic choice of English, with or without the bits you may not like, as well as a continental spread, including fruit salad and juices. Always a pleasant stay and good value for money. - The Boys from TanZo-Go & TPS Rail

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

From the outside, having approached the hotel on a dull and dreary Feb evening, this doesnt look too welcoming, but it was better than i first feared. Smooth check in and a comfortable room with adequate free wifi. I ate there in the evening and although the menu selection was limited, i had excellent sausage, mash and peas...... In fact, i enjoyed the sausages so much, I ordered a sausage toastie for breakfast......sadly though, the breakfast sausages were not the same premium quality.

The big downside for me though was the bar. The beer selection was lousy. Fosters on draught or John Smiths in a can...... Needless to say, I didnt linger.

However, if working in the area and in need of comfortable basic accommodation at an affordable price, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansfield Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Lodge Hotel

Address: 27 Woodhouse Road, Mansfield NG18 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Mansfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mansfield Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansfield Lodge Hotel is a family run 2-star small hotel with a friendly atmosphere situated in the heart of Robin Hood Country. This well furnished, smart Victorian property is less than ten minutes walk from Mansfield town centre. Bedrooms come in a variety of sizes and styles and are mostly en-suite. The smaller rooms with private facilities are comfortable and more budget priced, but the luxury deluxe en-suite rooms are well worth the extra money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mansfield Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansfield Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.