We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“change of name & more expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kelham House Country Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“change of name & more expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

booked a long weekend stay way back in 2010...they then wait until 2 weeks before the gun show in Newark to tell me the building is being re furbished and the main house would not be ready for another couple of months.. I could stay in the stable block but there would be no facilities, or food available.. and also it would be at the new rates which are obviously more expensive.. I declined and have been told a refund has been made to my card.. Wouldn't matter if this got a good or bad review as they are changing the hotel name anyway..I don't care what they call themselves I will never stay here on principle...customer service?? why wait till all other accommodation is full before you tell me or was that the plan all along..

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Les666,

Firstly let me apologise. We are going through a major refurbishment which we had to delay from last year, but you should have been contacted immediately and informed about what was happening with the facilities of the Coach House which is operating as a B&B. Under no circumstances should you have been told you'd be charged more than your originally agreed rate and I will fully investigate this to ensure it never happens again. Under no circumstances did we knowingly try and wait for everywhere else to be booked up before telling you, I can 100% guarantee the lack of communication was an oversight and nothing so sinister. We have changed the name of the hotel (or rather reverted back to the original name) already, I've been speaking to Tripadvisor today to tell me how to update it on here!
Again, apologies for your experience and I hope that at some point in the future you'll consider using us once we're fully operational again and we can attempt to show you that we do care about our customers, and are an honest and reliable hotel.

Best Regards

Jon-Paul Davies
Director
Kelham House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
55
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is a lovely old country manor house, which has been temporarily 'tarted up' as the new owners are waiting to refurbish it (in January 2011 I gather). Clearly this isn't ideal for them or the guests, but they are at least trying to make it work.

Meanwhile, the hotel looks tired, with very 70's textured wallpaper and poor partitioned bathrooms. The plumbing in the bathroom was so awful that the noise when you flushed the loo would have woken the dead! When we arrived our room was freezing cold with no heating on - pretty poor at the end of October. The lady we spoke to explained that they can't heat one room, and have to heat the whole hotel, which must be costly for them, but having guests arrive in a cold room just isn't on. So we had to wait for ages for the room to heat up before we could have baths / showers and get ready to go out, making us late.

The room had been decorated and was not bad looking, and the views were stunning. Calling it 'the Bridal Suite' while it still has the 70's paper and partition bathroom is a bit misleading though. The bed was a double, rather than a king, and was lumpy and uncomfortable. Had I been a bride I'd have been very disappointed with the room!

The breakfast was just 'OK' - not good, though the service was pleasant and friendly. In all, it was OK value but I'd give it a miss until after the refurb and see whether it improves then.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear Beth-and -Will

Thanks for your feedback, we're now well on the way to finishing the refurb and as with other comments left on here we hope to address all areas of concern. The beds, central heating, decor and noisy loos have all been updated and replaced to give our guests a great experience and value for money, and I hope if you are ever in the area again you will consider staying with us for a before and after feedback review?

Best Regards

Jon-Paul Davies
Kelham House

ps. Sorry but the bathrooms are still partitioned, we'd have to rebuild the whole hotel to change that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed here for our wedding (wedding at kelham hall)
The room was lovely, big comfy bed- large clean bathroom. Many of our other guests stayed here and also thought it was lovely. Breakfast was beautiful! With plently of choice. The staff had thoughtfully put a number of tables together so all the wedding guests could have breakfast together. We hope to go back and sample the sunday lunch.
Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

This hotel is under new management and the service couldn't have been better. I travel a great deal, and this is, sadly, something I rarely experience. In top hotels you get a fleet of staff, but rarely the kind of genuinely warm, personal and friendly consideration you'll find here.

For example, they knew we were planning to check in late, and rang to tell me what time dinner finishes. Then when we arrived even later than planned (around 11pm) they stayed up and kept the facilities open just for us, chatted to us and gave us a really warm welcome. The general manager even carried my suitcase upstairs for me. It made all the difference after a tedious journey.

The bar area was full of comfy squashy couches, and they served us wine in huge glasses.

The large bedroom was an oasis of tranquility, clean and lovely, with kettle, tea and coffee, free wi-fi. I think there was a large TV somewhere, though we didn't watch it. Great blinds, curtains blocked out all the light for peaceful sleeping in the morning. Totally quiet, lovely view over the garden. The very small bathroom had just enough room for a power shower and toilet (no bath) and you could only have one person at a time in there - but that may not be the case for all the rooms - and the tiny bathroom is the only reason I've given this room rating four, rather than five stars. In any case, we didn't necessarily want a larger bathroom, this was perfectly fine.

Parking was easy.

At £75 this was excellent value for money, I just wish we'd had more time to eat there, stay a bit longer and enjoy the gardens. The manager said they would be undertaking renovations from October 2010, so that might affect things a bit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.