We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kelham House Country Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for the wedding of a friend. Arrived early and our room was already ready which was unexpected. The room (main house room two) overlooked the grounds. The room was clean and more than adequate. Small bathroom but we were impressed with the large (and very powerful) shower. It seems each room is individually furnished which is a nice personal touch and highlights the individuality of the house. Public areas were all nicely decorated, modern, but in keeping with the age of the house.

We found all the staff friendly and welcoming. As a wedding venue, it's a wonderful place - the relaxation of being at home with a bit of glamour. We were really impressed with the food served at the wedding breakfast too - a twist on a prawn cocktail was tasty with very good smoked salmon, roast beef and yorkshire pudding and an oozing chocolate tart. If the standard of their restaurant is as good then definitely well worth a visit.

Breakfast was also very good - fruit, juices, cereal and pastries laid out for self-service, with hot food available to order. The cooked breakfast was of a very high standard. Would definitely recommend as a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Ali_P

Thanks for your lovely feedback, weddings are such an important part of our business so it's great to hear that as well as delighting our brides and grooms, as a guest at the wedding you were equally happy!

Your comments on the decor and the food are very welcome and we've made sure that chef and the team have been given your glowing review, it's a challenging service to get right but we're always making sure we do just that.

Thanks again, this type of feedback is hugely important to us.

Best Regards

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    37
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
55
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night when we visited the Southwell Folk Festival (we'd recommend that as well but that's a different story!) I booked on the hotels own website and selected a king size room in the coach house (no late night tiddly sneak through reception).
We were running late and called ahead to the hotel to ask if they could help us out by booking a taxi, which they cheerfully agreed to do.
On arriving, the receptionist had room keys and paperwork at the ready and helped us with luggage so that we could have 5 minutes to freshen up before the taxi arrived.
The room was quiet, spotlessly clean, huge bed with two squashy pillows, great bathroom with bath, shower and Elemis toiletries. Needless to say we spent a very comfortable night.
Breakfast was served until 10.30 (thank goodness) and was extremely good. The hotel itself is beautiful. Definitley 5* sorroundings and service, but not a snooty snoot in sight. My partner was very well satisfied with his full english (including black pudding if that's your thing) and I yummed and ah'd over my smoked haddock with poached egg.
It's just a shame we didn't have time to stay another night or two. This is a perfect spot for a romantic weekend with nearby Newark and Southwell providing lots of independant shops and interesting bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Viccic

Thank you so much for leaving such a glowing review, we're glad you had such a good time with us and hope to see you again in the future.

We'll make sure we have plenty of black pudding for breakfast!! :-)

All the best

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Kellham House Country Manor Hotel hosted our wedding yesterday! (I'm on my honeymoon train now). Myself, my bride and our guests unanimously reported back on how excellent the service was and what a great time was had by all.

We had a registar wedding service hosted in one of the front reception rooms of the hotel, moving to a wedding breakfast in the new banqueting suite, then an evenging do with band again in the new suite.

All elements of the day were handled prfossionally and it seemed invisibly by Chris and his team, everything went to plan, suppliers such as the morning cupcake provider, photographer and evening band were dealt with superbly, All guests were treated with the upmost respect (including when some the kids emptied bubble solution on the dance floor :) ).

The food was absolutely gorgeous, from the wedding breakfast itself to the evening buffet. We had arranged BBQ buffet but as the weather was changeable this was cooked in the kitchen, all went to time and Chris unobtrusively kept me informed of everything throughout the day.

As the weather turned out fine in the evening we had groups of children playing happily in the wonderful open green area by the main building and banqueting suite, while their parents could enjoy a nice chat and a drink or three in the knowlege that the kids were safe and happy an in view al the time.

In the evening the band played in the banqueting suite, for some of the oldies and people who wanted to chat they had full use of the quieter main hotel bar while the hardcore dancers boogied the night away.

Some of the guest stayed in the hotel, report back from all was that their rooms were lovely. The bridal suite certainly was. We all got together for breakfast (I'd agreed with everyone we'd meet at 9am) and there were nice touches such that hot coffee and tea was already on the tables ready for the guests.

Overall a high quality perfect wedding experience, I couldn't ask for anything to be improved, lots of smiles from the guests, nothing I had to worry about as the groom and a very big thank you to Chris and his team for all the hard work.

Jamie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Jamie

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, weddings are such a special part of what we do, and we always make sure we don't lose sight of what's really important, which is giving the bride and groom the perfect day. We wish you all the best for the future and look forward to seeing you again,

Fondest Regards

The Kelham House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

On Friday evening I had a wonderful dinner at this hotel. The standard of presentation and the flavour of the meal was out of this world. The Hotel has a been beautifully refurbished and is a perfect setting. The staff offered a warm welcome and service was subtle but attentive. They offer fantastic value for money and as a regular diner in Newark restaurants they leave the competition standing.
I will be telling all of my friends and will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Andrea G

Thanks so much for your lovely review (and apologies for the delay in acknowledging!) We're really glad you enjoyed your meal and even more grateful you took the time to leave your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Best Regards

Charlotte & Jon-Paul Davies
Kelham House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had seen your 'A' board on the main road advertising bar lunches and it was an ideal location for us after a morning walk of kelham Hills. It was worrying to find that we were in the bar on our own - perhaps the 'A' board blown down for several days was the reason? Nevertheless, the welcome was warm and coffee was nice: but the Tuna Mayo baguettes were poor - bread from the freezer, and undercooked - fries, not crisped, and salad garnish was old and limp with no colour - no pepper, no tomato, and what would it cost on a £7.50 menu price? we thought 'Kitchen garden' meant something special, but we were disappointed. Later the same day, we met a friend - unfortunately, we did not recommend our experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Malcsaville

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on your lunch with us at Kelham House, and firstly to apologise for what was a disappointing visit to our bar.

We've spoken to chef and together we have sat down today and completely re-worked the lunch and bar menus to bring them up to the standards we have achieved in the a la carte restaurant. Baguettes have been removed from the menu and replaced with fresh, crusty bloomer bread and we have added such dishes as a ploughmans lunch and have developed the sides to add interest and flavour.

Chef did mention that he did try to speak to you after the meal to see if everything had been OK and was disappointed that you didn't take the opportunity to let us know immediately, we don't like to not please and I hope that our quick reaction in acknowledging and removing future risk of dissatisfaction leave you open to maybe re-visiting in the future and testing our new, improved lunch time menu.

Best Regards

Charlotte and Jon-Paul Davies, Kelham House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Hotel was booked by my wife as a surprise for my 50th, with friends and relatives also booking to stay. The whole experience was excellent, from the room (bridal suite), to the evening meal where they catered for all of us without any fuss or bother.
As organiser of the event my wife was consulted unobtusively throughout the evening, which she felt was a great touch. She would also like to thank the hotel for helping her to organise the event. The food was excellent and well presented and the hotel even let us all breakfast privately the following morning, which was a nice touch.
I will say that I found the mattress very comfortable, but that's just my opinion, the room itself was faultless.
We just need another excuse to book the hotel again.

Room Tip: Friends and relatives who stayed all complemented the quality of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear MPFB

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review, it really was a pleasure to host your party and we're glad that you enjoyed it so much, we really do pride ourselves on our food and service so to hear we're 'ticking all the boxes' is music to our ears!

No excuse needed, just pop in for a cuppa!

All the very best regards

All the Kelham House Hotel

ps. Thanks for the comment on the mattress, we were starting to feel a bit paranoid :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night on the 12/2/2012 with my husband and son while attending a funeral the following day.
We had a lovely room (Bridal suite no less!) which we thought was lovely...bright,fresh and very nice colour scheme.
The only criticism was the extraordinarily hard mattress (apart from a hospital bed, this is the hardest mattress I have ever slept on)
We had dinner in the Restaurant in the evening which was very good....big portions and I struggled to finish mine!
I think this hotel has great potential,but feel it has a little way to go yet.
There seemed to be a shortage of staff on the Monday morning( the hotel was not busy!) with one lady who seemed to be doing all the jobs on her own(Receptionist, Waitress etc).
I will mention one member of Staff who was there on the Saturday as we arrived whose name is Louise (can,t remember her surname...sorry).
She was very professional in her approach and a very nice lady, a credit to the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel.
When the extension is finished I think it will be a very nice place to stay!

Room Tip: The Bridal suite was lovely. A large room with great views and a very nice bathroom! Loved the col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPKelham, Owner at Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Bronda1

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on the hotel, it really is invaluable feedback to us and we're glad that you had such a nice time with us.

Louise is indeed an great asset to the hotel and it's always great to hear about particular members of the team sticking in peoples minds, it is all about hospitality after all!

Sorry the bed was too hard for you, when we spoke to Hypnos about the best mattresses and tested them out it gave us the best middle ground we could find, the difficult thing is most people tell us they're the nicest they've slept in so I'm afraid it's down to personal preference.

We are a new business, and as such are constantly developing the business to ensure our guests receive a fantastic service and are 100% happy with all elements of their stay or visit to us, and we'll make sure we take your comments to help us improve more.

All the best

The Kelham House Team

ps. The extension is now complete and looking and working brilliantly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelham House Country Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelham House Country Manor Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kelham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 5QP, England (Formerly Red House Country Manor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Kelham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelham House Country Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel was built as a private manor house in 1903 and became a hotel about 50 years later. Under new ownership since 2010 the hotel has been totally refurbished and extended to provide luxury accommodation at affordable prices. Situated in the outskirts of the historic Newark on Trent it provides a perfect location for business traveller, visitor to the area or as a venue for weddings, parties and meetings. As of July 2014 we are happy to announce our 3 star AA accreditation, as well as our first dining rosette awarded by the AA inspector for our a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kelham House Country Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hotel Country Manor
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelham House Country Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.