We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, superb food and very well kept beer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forest Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edwinstowe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Forest Lodge Hotel
Save
You added The Forest Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Church Street, Edwinstowe NG21 9QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edwinstowe
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, superb food and very well kept beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

A real find in a quiet and pleasant location. Stayed here for one night on business and was welcomed straight away, and made to feel welcome throughout my stay.

The real ales were varied and all in excellent condition.

The staff friendly, helpful and attentive without being overbearing.

The food was superb - very well prepared, cooked and presented. The cheeseboard was near perfection! The room was clean, pleasingly decorated in a modern style and comfortable. I'd recommend the Forest Lodge heartily !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
25
23
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

In 24 hours we ate at the restaurant 3 times and enjoyed it all. Our room was simple but clean with a 4-poster bed. For a quiet town I think we chose the hub - the onsite pub had a great atmosphere with all of the staff taking the time to notice that we were staying upstairs. A 10min walk to Sherwood Forest, we'd stay again. Mind the low ceilings!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010 via mobile

Had a pamper day at a local spa for valentines day, we booked forest lodge over the phone from the start I was impressed with the friendly and such helpful staff which carried on throughout our stay.we had a meal in the restaurant, the food was to a very high standard it was delicious!!! Also the breakfast was yummy!! The room was more than we expected it was very clean and it had all up to date accessories The four poster bed was a delight!! In the bar area was a lovely open fire which gave the most wonderful family and homely feel.will definatly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield,
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

although we didnt stay at the hotel i still feel that if i had done i would have been pleased with the whole outcome,
we booked a table at the hotel for a big family get together, when i phoned to make the booking the lady was more than helpful towards me and was pleased to do anything i asked of them and also assist me in anyway.
upon arriving at the hotel i was more than pleased with my choice, from the outside it looks like a well preseved building, on the inside it has a warm decor and the staff were very pleasent,
the meals we had were wonderful the only complaint i have is that i couldnt eat more! most of us ate a carvery which was really nice, my partner not being a cavery fan requested a mixed grill, all being said i had requested this when i made the booking, although this wasnt on the menu for the day they still made it for him and i must admit i wished i had one too, it was everything you expect from a mixed grill.
we stayed at our table a little longer than expected and although the resturant was due to close at 5 they didnt ask us to leave and made us fell welcome still.
i have to thank the staff for their warm welcome excellent service and such a friendly atmosphere, thank you so much

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Super hotel just 5 minutes walk from Sherwood Forest where we were visiting the Robin Hood Festival with our daughter & granddaughter. We had the family suite of rooms which were ideal in accommodation & spotlessly clean. Staff couldn't be more helpful and both breakfast & dinner were of the highest standard. If we had to make one negative comment it would be that we had to shut windows when the smokers came out of the hotel and were smoking just along from our rooms. Otherwise it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

We booked a 2 night stay here as a spur of the moment family break, as we wanted to visit Sherwood Forest. Their website was very informative, and the booking process, which was via e-mail, was prompt and courteous. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room, which was actually more like a suite of rooms! We entered via our double room, which was very spacious and well decorated, with a lovely en-suite shower and toilet. A connecting door led into the room our 2 daughters shared, with a single room leading off it with an en-suite shower and toilet where our son slept! Fantastic, allowing for a level of privacy for us as adults, but by leaving the adjoining door open, we could still be accessible to our children! Breakfasts were wonderful, VERY filling, and very tasty, served by extremely friendly staff - very bright and bubbly! On our second night we had a meal in the restaurant from the a la carte menu, which was of the highest standard. The children were well catered for, and again the staff were attentive and friendly, making it a very enjoyable experience.
The checkout process was quick and accurate. Overall, a thoroughly wonderful short break, much needed by our family, and made very enjoyable by the welcoming team at Forest Lodge Hotel. Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Awfull room spoilt our visit. Shower drain smelt terrible. Noisy & smelly machine drainage system, had one of these elsewhere but had no problems then. TV only worked on 3 stations & positioned so you could only partially open the wardrobe. Poor decor & poor furniture which was lacking in quality & style even when new. Facilities, service & breakfast pitched to the minimum & nowhere near the usual standards you expect for a 4* B&B rated site. Note the rating is the AA B&B rating not the Hotel rating,( which is even higher), despite the premises carry 'hotel' in its name. Could not recommend the place at all especially as we could see there are lots of others in the area.

  • Liked — the carpark
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Forest Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: 4, Church Street, Edwinstowe NG21 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edwinstowe
Hotel Class:4 star — The Forest Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Forest Hotel Edwinstowe
Forest Hotel Edwinstowe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forest Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.