We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went the cheap route this time and stayed at Microtel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus

Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus to your Saves list
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Stringtown Road, Grove City, OH 43123   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Grove City
Dixon, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We went the cheap route this time and stayed at Microtel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were visiting family and didn't want to spend a lot on a hotel. I chose this one because it was the only one without a bad review on here.
The good bits: The room was surprisingly quiet, considering the busy highways outside! We didn't hear a thing, except occasionally people walking in the halls. It was clean and the bathroom was acceptable, no problems there. The bed slept well, even if the pillows needed replacing (hard & flat/ lumpy & hard) We made our reservations online and in the comments section we requested 2 extra pillows, but when we got to our room we didn't have them. I asked for them at the front desk and the clerk said they only had 1 extra pillow (in the whole place, really??) so we took that. Checking in and out was a breeze. They had continental breakfast but we didn't eat it. The coffee was good though. There is a Panera Bread next door so we went there for breakfast. Also a Cracker Barrel and Bob Evans down the street. Walmart across the street, Target down the street, Starbucks, Red Robin, 5 Guys Burgers & Fries, and Longhorn Steakhouse also on the street.
Bad bits: (other than the pillows): The ice machine on the 2nd floor was out of order so we had to go downstairs for ice, no biggie. We stayed 4 days and it didn't get fixed. Also, I wanted to use the fitness room, but there was no a/c in there and it was like 98 degrees in there. Someone had left packets of fortune cookies laying around, and no one ever cleaned them up while we were there, so I wasn't quite sure of the cleanliness of it, so I never used it. They also didn't change the sheets every day, as we could tell by the cigarette burn hole in one of them that stayed in the same place for a couple of days.
Basically it was a good cheap room for just sleeping in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    62
    24
    31
See reviews for
51
30
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

During the recent storms that left many without power, including me, we called this hotel on a Friday and booked a two night stay. We had already booked a Sunday night stay there as we were planning on going to the casino which is a short 10 minute drive away. The front desk person was very nice and helpful during this time which must have been busy and stressful for her. Many other Columbus hotels were already without power and many guests from those hotels were trying to find other places to stay.

There are many hotels in this area, but this one is quite reasonable in price, easy to reach, clean and the rooms are comfortable. Not as fancy as some and it is an older property so the walls are thin which allows you to hear loud guests in the hall or adjoining rooms. Internet access was quick and rooms have flat screen televisions. Unfortunately on Saturday night, storms knocked out the cable and internet, but the air conditioner and lights were on so we just brought in CD's and played them on our computer. Beds are comfortable. No hair dryers in the rooms but you can ask for one at the front desk. Our room had a frig and microwave which would be nice if you were staying there for an extended length of time. Breakfast bar is routine hotel fare but adequate and rolls were very good. Traffic is crazy in that area, but this property is very close to Int. 71. Many places to eat, many within walking distance.

We left on Sunday morning but found out later that this area was hit hard by another storm that evening and we hope that everyone is safe and there was no damage to the hotel. We plan to stay there again when travelling in the Columbus area. I have stayed in Columbus many times, and Grove City is the perfect place to stay if you want to avoid the downtown area where the highway traffic can be congested.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I checked in with no reservation early in morning (was dissatisfied with prior motel) and needed to stay at least 5 days.I will definitley stay here again if traveling to the Columbus area.I ended up staying 9 nights.It was very clean and staff was great and very accomadating.Rooms were nice and cool and not smokey(I had a smoking room).They do not have ammeneties like iron,coffee maker or hair dryer but it suited me just fine.I felt safe since traveling alone and was less expensive than the motel I had checked out of.There are so many places to eat and shopping in the area within walking distance even.I would definitley reccomend staying here it's not fancy but worked well for my situation.

Room Tip: Check rates on microtel.com save alot of money especially if staying for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreve
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This motel is in a great location for shopping, dining and access to the freeway. Staff was courteous and room was clean and pleasant.

Room Tip: Even though we had a nonsmoking room, there must have been smoking rooms on our floor, as you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Was a great price since we were on an extended stay and on a budget! Rooms were clean and nice, not fancy but... Staff was nice and helpful. Easy access to everything in town and freeways. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Worst customer service ever and poor rooms! Made reservation for late check out, Front desk kept calling room and knocking on door.Answered phone and front desk wanted the $15 for the late check out. Would not wait the 2 hours to get there $15. Could not sleep after getting up. If there $15 is that important they need to get the money upfront. The roooms where on the poor side and where not clean. Will never stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed overnight at the Microtel. We would definitely stay at a Microtel again.

Pros:
The room was very, very clean.
Nice, accommodating staff.
Blackout curtains in the room.
Inexpensive.

Cons:
Thin walls. You can hear most of what goes on next door. (We came in after midnight though, and everyone must have been sleeping, so we didn't notice it upon check in).
Outdated kitchen area. This could use an upgrade.

Neutral:
The rooms were small, but I'm used to cruise ship accommodations, so it didn't bother me a bit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus

Address: 1800 Stringtown Road, Grove City, OH 43123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Grove City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Grove City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Hotel Grove City
Grove City Microtel
Microtel Inn By Wyndham Grove City/Columbus Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn by Wyndham Grove City/Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.