We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, tired and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4055 Jackpot Rd., Grove City, OH 43123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Grove City
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Old, tired and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The sheets are thread bare, the carpet dark with age and too many feet, the pillows were tired and thin, the heater was missing knobs and was very dirty inside, the light in the bathroom all but non-existent. The sink and counter looked new, as did the tub and surround, however, with the nasty bed, carpet and heater greeting you it gave an overall impression of scuzzy. You don't want to take your shoes off or sit on the bed.
We rented this room as a control for cyclists to get their arrival cards signed. I'd rather pay an extra $20 and go a few yards down the road to the Hampton.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We strive to make every guests stay as comfortable as possible. Our rooms and front desk lobby area are being renovated now. We are unsure of how long this process will take, we hope that in the future you allow us to be your choice of hotels. Thank you for your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
11
7
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two months ago for the first time. And again three times after that. I travel to columbus two to three times a month on business. The staff at this Red Roof was andis great! Very friendly. The second time i stayed i had a slight issue with a room and called front desk right away. I spoke with the manager Renee, she was sure to take care of it right away. When the maint. man came to fix our issue it was within mins of requesting it to be done. Im not a very patient man so this is a plus for me. Along with the friendly staff is a excellent location. There are many restaurants within a mile or so near by as well as plenty of lounges. I will definitely be back. Great job guys!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It's great to know that staff has made your stay that much better. We strive to make every guest feel as comfortable as they are at home. Your review will be passed on to the rest of the staff so they are aware of there good work. We will see you soon hopefully. Thank you again for your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NASHVILLE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Was very disappointed in this Red Roof. The room had the old style furniture (seen better days) and the carpeting was old and worn. Had to call the front desk about barking dog in the next room because the owners went out and left the dog in the room. The staff was courteous, but the unit just needs updating, just not up to current Red Roof standards. Will not stay there again until improvements made.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynashushi, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
First of all thank you for your feedback!

I would like to apologize for your noise issues during your stay. Our standard procedure would be a change of room. We do not allow pets to stay in the rooms unattended and we will certainly use this as a training exercise for our employees.

You may be interested to learn that just this week we have started refurbishing our guest rooms as well as our lobby. This will take place for the next month or possibly two. We hope that you will allow us to be your choice of stay in the future.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope the remainder of your trip to Grove City, Ohio was most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

basically a re modeled Motel. 2 buildings 2 floors each all outside access as typical with red roofs terrible breakfast : just muffins and such in cellophane bags coffee is at least the right color. not terrible just nothing particularly good about this place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I prefer to travel simply and without fuss. I work for a company that has a Red Roof Inn corporate discount so whenever I travel, I search for a RRI location with a good reputation and book it. This location was no exception.

The location was in a safe area and close to the highway, probably a 10 min. drive into downtown, if that. The room was clean (save for the cigarette burns in my friend's comforter, which had clearly been laundered but still, not something you'd want to see, regardless of price point) and simple. The lobby was the nicest, most modern I've seen at any RRI I've stayed in. I really liked the water pressure in the shower, something that is lacking in most motels/hotels.

I don't foresee myself returning to the Columbus area soon but if I needed a place to stay again, I will re-book with the RRI - Grove City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here on the on the spur of the moment last year on Valentines Day. All the other hotels in the area were already booked because of the occassion. I was relieved we were able to find a good hotel on such short notice. The rooms were nice and quiet the first night. The second night some guys were having a party which didn't bother me that much except when I had to walk passed their room to get to mine and they would stare and make little comments! The quality of the room was better than I expected. I have no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is great.

My friends and I stayed NYE and couldn't be happier. Rooms were clean and the staff was accommodating. for only about 60 dollars (w tax) i dont think you can find a better value in the grove city area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City

Address: 4055 Jackpot Rd., Grove City, OH 43123
Location: United States > Ohio > Grove City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Grove City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Columbus - Grove City is located on I-71, just south of downtown Columbus. A five minute drive to Columbus provides easy access to all of the capital city's great attractions, such as OSU, Downtown Columbus, The New CASINO, COSI, German Village, and The Arena District. We are within five miles of the Phoenix Golf Links . We offer in-room coffee in our Superior King rooms, an outdoor pool, and a coin laundry. A wide variety of new shopping and dining establishments almost 80 Restaurant/Fast Food are located within mile of the inn. This location offers a seasonal outdoor heated pool, coin laundry facility, and business center. Select rooms offer microwave/microfridge units and in-room coffee makers. Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby. Free WI-FI 10 MBPS high speed internet access available. Free national long distance telephone calls. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. More information regarding Grove City, Ohio go to visitgrovecityoh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City Hotel Grove City
Red Roof Inn Grove City
Grove City Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Columbus/Grove City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.