We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Elevator” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbus South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Columbus South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Columbus South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4017 Jackpot Road, Grove City, OH 43123   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Grove City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Elevator”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are going to be staying here, be prepared to carry your luggage up to the second floor. Construction is taking place, and fumes from flooring adhesive, paint, etc. were strong and irritating. Staff is friendly, but that didn't make up for the inconveniences caused by the construction. Also, we were told that we had an upgraded room to make up for the inconvenience, but the upgrade only meant that we were in one of the rooms that had already been remodeled. Hampton Inn is my motel of choice, but this one missed the mark. Maybe it will be better when the construction is done, but they still won't have an elevator.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    23
    13
    11
See reviews for
44
28
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of some major remodeling and constucting a new wing. When checking in, all that was going on was explained also pointing out and apologizing in advance that no hot breakfast would be available in the moring, just a continental offerring. I was offered a snack and beverage also at check in . I went to my room and was suprised that it seemed to have been one of the remodeled rooms and it was very nice. Once inside it was easy to forget the construction zone I walked through to get to the room. It was quiet, even the next morning, which made me think they hold off the loud work untill at least after 8:30. They are doing a good job considering the circumstances. I will stay again, even if everything is not completed. Once the construction is finished I am sure this is somewhere people will want to stay when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I almost skipped this Hampton Inn because the parking lot was closed for resurfacing. Now I'm glad I stopped there. Not only had they arranged parking in neighboring businesses that was as close as regular parking, they discounted the stay because of the "inconvenience". In terms of service I would say that Hampton Inn is always excellent, but the quality of the service and room at this located was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

room was very nice, service was good as well as breakfast. was confused on appearance of hallways? couldn't figure out if hotel was being remodeled? we knew the parking lot was.we liked the rm. bed was comfortable. food was good. pool water was cold. hot tub(hot) but felt good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a great hotel! The front desk staff was welcoming and courteous. The newly renovated room was very nice. The only problem we encountered were the mileage estimates on the website. We chose this property because it was supposedly 15 miles from the Columbus Zoo. In actuality, it was 25 miles!! I would have chosen a different hotel if I had known this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I often stay at the Hampton when visiting family in Grove City just south of Columbus, OH. The staff is friendly and they are beginning to recognize me when I enter the Lobby. The rooms are great there and the guests are always courteous even when they happen to be softball players who are there for the annual tournament. Plenty of shopping and close to the family. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped at Hotel after 12 hours of driving from Allentown, PA with 3 kids. Luggage cart had a flat tire. Assigned a room on 2nd Floor, but elevator was inoperable due to renovation. Lots up luggage to carry up the stairs. Carpets and ceiling tiles were ripped up and construction dust was everywhere outside the room. No lights in pool and bathrooms were torn up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnColsSouth, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbus South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Kim K.

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that we could not provide a positive experience during your stay. I sincerely apologize regarding some of the construction we are going though including the elevator was not working during your stay. I very much can empathize with your discomfort and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Your business is very important to us and I sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity and consider returning again. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me. We are always listening to our guests!

Monalisa Cassell / General Manager
p:614-539-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Columbus South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbus South

Address: 4017 Jackpot Road, Grove City, OH 43123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Grove City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Grove City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbus South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is undergoing: expansion construction on the building, parking lot and room’s renovation. Daily construction hours are from 8 am until 7 pm, 7 days a week. Also, the hotel is without an elevator and gym facility. On the 1st week of August throughout September 2013, we will be renovating our Lobby & Dining Room to the new Perfect Mix Lobby. You may experience some noise and dust during business hours, but breakfast will still be available as normal. We THANK YOU for your patience and understanding, while we are on our way to serve you better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbus South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbus South Hotel Grove City
Hampton Inn Grove City
Grove City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Columbus South Grove City, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Columbus South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.