We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akeld Manor and Cottages

Akeld Manor and Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akeld Manor and Cottages
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Akeld, Wooler NE71 6TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Situated in the middle of nowhere, not very much to do in the actual cottages area. Swimming pool was too small, but nice. Claimed the fitness facilities were free but had to pay for a couple of things. Sauna was very nice.
I found it terrible how there was no wi-fi there as I was to do some work. Overall the rooms were decent sized, the shower was ok and I enjoyed my stay. But I would not go back. They should have a smoking area as we had to smoke in tbe car which was a drag. Staff were quite plain and as soon as we entered the reception it was straight into standard fees which didn't seem too good to us. But I would recommend it if someone wanted a quiet and peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed in the Manor House over the New Year 2011/2012 with a group of friends.This place certainly does not live up to its four star rateing apart for the price.This trip is an annual event (not
to Akeld) and we take with us our own lady cook as we go self catering.They advertise that this
house is self catering for 15 people but the cooking facilities are totally inadequate to cater for that number of guests.The Aga doesn't work correctly and the second cooker is only suitable for very limited cooking and there are a lack of utensills.In fact when we were there they opened one of the cottages so we were able to cook dinner in the evenings. The house itself is clean and tidy but the bathrooms are tired and in need of some TLC as is the leisure facilities The on site staff were as helpful as they could be but the owner was just not interested. If you intend going to the Manor House don't expect to be able to cook all your meals. As the restraunt on site is closed the nearest place to eat is Wooler (2 miles down the road )

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Just returned from a stunning half-term break in Northumberland staying at Akeld Manor. Location and countryside wonderful with lots to do for all the family. Akeld Manor itself is quiet and perfectly placed to explore the area.

The cottage we stayed in was OK - the fittings and furniture were tired and old fashioned. The shower was only a dribble and cooking equipment basic (bring your own sharp knife and chopping board). The swimming pool was great - the kids loved it, as well as the table tennis and pool table.

The big disappointment was the fact we had mice in the cottage. Most evenings they came out, freely visible running across the floor and by morning there were mouse droppings everywhere. Not a great start to the day having to clean mouse pooh off the kitchen worksurfaces and floor! Although the resort has pest control the management wasn't helpful about the mouse problem and it put a big downer on the holiday - won't be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Perfect setting with oodles of character and charm. Furnishings and equipment excellent, and fantastic leisure facilities. Fitness room with massage chairs, beautiful swimming pool with jaccuzi, well heated and good swimming length. Full size snooker table, pool table, table tennis and dvd's and video's to hire.
Staff were excellent, and couldnt do enough. Perfectly situated to reach lots of attractions and walking is plentiful. This is one of the best holidays we have had in the British Isles - would highly recommend it. Definately 4 star and also has highest RCI rating.
WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is a great location for exploring this beautiful area of Northumberland. Akeld Manor and Cottages practically backs up to the Cheviot Hills and are located very near the town of Wooler which is known as the gateway to the Cheviots. We booked this resort via a timeshare exchange and our overall interactions with the resort staff, which consisted primarily of checking in and checking out, were positive. There was an electricity fee charged at check in. I understand this as it is a variable amount (dependent on usage) that is hard for a business to predict, but I found the amount for the week to be excessive and more than what I pay for a similar size home for a full month.

Our unit was #20 - Bramble Cottage. This is a two bedroom unit, with a queen bed in one room and two twins in another room, a large eat in kitchen, and very comfortable living room. There is also convenient parking right outside your door. A car is a necessity here as there is no restaurant onsite and the nearest town, Wooler, is 2 miles away. The unit was very clean and in good shape although a bit dated. The bed was very comfortable. There is also a combo washer/dryer in the unit which was very convenient. The only real negative to this unit is that there is no shower - only a bathtub. Since we were staying for a week, that was a bit of an inconvenience for hairwashing. It wouldn't be hard to put up a shower rod in this unit, and if the management would do this, I'd rate this resort higher.

The resort also has a pool and fitness center. We didn't use either of these as we were out exploring the area all day. The location here is fantastic - it's just an hour and a half south of Edinburgh, and less than 45 mins to many of the major attractions of the area such as Holy Island, Bamburgh Castle, Dustenburgh Castle, Northumberland National Park, Flodden Field, Ford and Etal, etc.. The history here is rich. It's about two miles to Wooler where there are several pubs and a Co-op grocery store. The Red Lion located at the Anchor Inn in Wooler had fabulous food and a very friendly staff - plus free internet. The Marketplace Cafe was very good as well.

Wooler's tourist information center had tons of information on things to see and do as well as many walks. It seemed like there was public footpath everywhere you looked.

One other way this resort could improve would be to offer internet. We had to go into town everytime we needed to get online. But aside from that and the shower, this was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Beautiful locality but cottage furnishings tired - chairs saggy and sofa bed very lumpy.
concerned about fire danger - only one exit door - windows too narrow for escape and some nailed shut.
Pool too small for swimming comfortably
Restaurant closed

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We were quite excited about our visit to Akeld Manor but quite disappointed with the reality. The leisure facilities were a particular disappointment - the restaiurant was closed and the pool was only available between 9am and 8pm though the website claimed that it was available from 8am to 10pm. The cottage was very pleasant and extremely clean but we felt that the kitchen in particular was in need of some updating. The 4 star luxury reviews may have applied when the cottages were first opened but we would doubt that they would still apply. The location is excellent and we would definitely go back to Northumberland but not to Akeld Manor. We feel we would be able to get a much better deal elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akeld Manor and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akeld Manor and Cottages

Address: Akeld, Wooler NE71 6TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty lodging in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Akeld Manor and Cottages 3*
Also Known As:
Akeld Manor And Cottages Hotel Wooler
Akeld Manor And Cottages Wooler, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akeld Manor and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Akeld Manor and Cottages to your Saves list