We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler to your Saves list
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
St. Andrews
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We went to Wooler for a walking holiday, and as the Tankerville Arms was doing a special deal at £68 per night per room, chose to stay there. Plenty of convenient parking behind the hotel. All the staff were local, knew about the area and were very helpful and friendly. Our room was over the dining room, but even tho' the local hunt supporters were having a meal there, we weren't troubled by noise. The food wasn't goumet, but good local food, well cooked. Service was very efficient. The only thing against our paricular room was that the bath-room was on the small side

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    70
    26
    24
    9
See reviews for
29
109
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We have dined here on several occasions and found the quality of food and service of the staff to be second to none. We found the guest accomodation to be very clean and comfortable. The staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay very pleasurable. The full English breakfast is an added bonus to an exceptional overnight stay. Highly recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is a good old fashioned coaching inn. The staff are very welcomming and nothing is too much trouble for them. I enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar. Excellent breakfast, using local produce and well cooked. Our German Sheppherd Dog is made to feel at home both by staff and other guests. If you want the Hilton, or an identikit chain go elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

one of the best set of staff we have ever come across. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
good beer, great food (and plenty of it)
great location - nice garden

Only grumble would be the shower was not great., but when faced with such great service it could not take the shine off our stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We have stayed here before so had an idea of what to expect. The family room was a good size however the decor was very dated. In addition the duvets were not 'summer weight' and we had to remove them at night as it was far too hot.Unfortunately the cleanliness of the bathroom left alot to be desired. I was paticularly dismayed by the hairs in the 'cotton wool' pot....and in the bath. My partner who is over 6 foot would have struggled to get under the shower as the ceiling was very low, so he was forced to have a bath instead. We dined in the restauraunt on the first night and were satisfied with the food which I would describe as good pub food. They did not have a childrens menu as such but were happy to do smaller portions of anything on the menu. I must admit the service from the staff was very attentive. The only disapointment for my partner was when they ran out of beer one afternoon and the staff member on duty didn't know how to change the barrell!!. The other two nights we ate at an Italian restaurant in Wooler town centre called Milan ( behind the Black Bull Pub), which I would highly recommend and is within walking distance of the hotel. I would say that the hotel is very tired and in need of a refurb. The main positive is the staff and their friendly and helpful outlook.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We recently dined here and were very disappointed after looking at the website we were expecting grand things but the dining room was very dated and tired and shabby in places and in need of a re vamp to bring it to this era.
The food was ok. Nothing anything grander than pub food, a bit of a let down.
The table cloth when shown to our table was dirty in places from previous diners and my napkin had a cm round burn hole in it, the water jug had a big chip out of the rim too.
Only little things maybe but not what you expect when going out for a nice meal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Grooup of us stayed for 5 nights. Excellent food brought to the table at 7pm on the dot as we asked for, everynight! Friendly staff, and ideal location for northumberlands golf courses. Local real ales are a lovely change from the usual served the country over.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.