We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be put off with the terrible reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler to your Saves list
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
northeast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dont be put off with the terrible reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked this hotel on a groupon deal for a friends birthday and it was lovely, rooms nice and clean food very good and the full breakfast was lovely (and no we did not have to pay extra for it as some other reviews have said) the staff were very friendly, and for what we paid we could not have asked for more

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    29
    25
    9
See reviews for
30
114
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely weekend, staff very friendly, cosy fire in the bar, food was good and room was small but very nice.Very pleased, only fault was no outside bin for dog poo, but they said they were looking into this.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

After hearing good things about this hotel after my wife stayed here ten years ago, we decided to give it a go with the groupon offer. Well, how things have changed over ten years, for the worst, i am imformed.

Hotel in general - very tired and in need of tlc.
Rooms - our room had a very creaky floor. Mix and match of old and new furniture, generally old fashioned. The door frames were very dirty covered in black hand prints, the kettle was dirty and no glasses. One toilet roll for two nights for two, so go easy on it unless you want the embarrassment of going down and asking for some during breakfast!
Food - evening meal we both had was steak and stout pie. It had a strange taste, not liked by both of us. We ate out at the Milan Italian restaurant in town on the second night which was very good. The biggest surprise came at breakfast time when we were approached by the waitress and read out a monologue about groupon customers having to pay for cooked breakfasts. We were told we could have the continental breakfast which incorporated toast, cereal, tinned grapefruit and tea/coffee. Not even a continental breakfast in my humble opinion. In a nutshell, this was a total con trap having to pay for a cooked breakfast, which we (and most other guests in the room) were not expecting particularly as our groupon deal was for accommodation and breakfast. No mention was made in the groupon deal small print about this. Shameless. The whole point of groupon is to tempt customers in to your establishment at a discounted price and show them the full potential of the establishment during their stay so that customers want to come back, leave positive reviews and tell their friends about the great experience they had. Whoever thought up this breakfast caper is doing the opposite of the above and needs to go back to business school, although i doubt, if that person ever got there in the first place!
Just a last note on the breakfast. The tea tasted like it was chlorinated and the croissant my wife ordered was hard in the middle and looked like it had been partially microwaved. She left it. You had to spread butter on your toast on small saucers and because it was primarily overdone, it shattered because the plate was too small.
Service - abismal. Constantly having to go and find the bar tender when you need to buy a drink. Terrible service at breakfast time. When you wanted extra butter or toast, you had to go wandering around the hotel trying to find someone.
Overall - very poor service, hotel tired and making groupon customers feel like second class citizens. This is the mark of a hotel in major decline. This place needs Gordon Ramsey.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here after buying a Groupon deal - Bed and Breakfast.

We arrived and had to go looking for a member of staff to get us checked in as no-one came even after ringling the bell. Room was on the small side but ok, clean bathroom and comfy bed. We had to wait ages at the bar as again no staff in sight. We had booked a table for evening meal. We ordered steak, which came with chips - no alternative unless you ordered it separately. My husbands meal was tasteless, my steak was all gristly and fat with very little steak on show. We told the waitress we weren't happy and she advised she would have a word with the manager - who never came to see us! No decent restaurant would want their customers to pay full price for a meal which was unsatisfactory, but this one did.

Breakfast was again disappointing as there is a full menu, however Groupon customers have to pay extra for anything cooked. There was however, fruit, cereal, toast and marmalade in any quantity and coffe to help yourself to. I guess this is their was of saying they have provided breakfast.

All in all a very disappointing stay, we have had many Groupon deals in the past which have been great and we have gone back to various places for meals - not this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel after buying a groupon voucher https://www.groupon.co.uk/deals/newcastle/ga-tankerville-arms-hotel-accommodation/31691469 the deal said two nights stay with breakfast for two, to our amazement we were charged for the breakfast after paying for the inclusive deal, the receptionist was not interested to know at all, she could not care less when I mentioned to her that the voucher I had included the breakfast. Needless to say this spoilt our first anniversary stay, the breakfast was nothing to write home about and to be charged twice is disgusting. Both the hotel and groupon are not taking responsibility and benefiting at customers expense by misrepresenting their deal and falsely marketing this so called deal.

The service was atrocious twice I had to ring the hotel telephone using my mobile to get their attention as no one was at the reception desk.

I would not recommend this hotel and will not be returning.

Disgruntled overcharged and ripped off customer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed in wooler camping and pub B and B better service then at this hotel staff rude don't like you speaking your mind while complaining . Young couple on first groupon didn't have all information staff rude unhelpful with there situation . Bed hard pillow like golf balls food close to the worsted iv had at prices I've payed less . Breakfast not included which we were not aware of till later consists of 1 sausage 1 bacon 1 egg 1 uncooked tomatoe 1 black pudding 1 mushroom never saw any fruit only marmalade on offer . Wanted to stay here over years glad I had a bad experience on a groupon and saved 125£ on this . Try black bull for food or chippy

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This as really gone downhill. The service was terrible. It took over half an hour to check in, handed the key with no info, very rude. The meals are very poor. Frozen chips, no side salad or veg. Very basic, very overpriced. The shower didn't work. Room was cold a drafty. Only one sachet of coffee for two. No toilet roll. It said includes breakfast but when we went down there was no coffee. No fruit. No toast. Only to see there was an added charge of £6.95 for a cooked breakfast. This was very small, basic and poor. No one came to serve us. We also had trouble checking out. Yet again, no service! We would never stay here again, Everybody was very disappointed. You could see the over guests was disappointed too. Poor quality, very overpriced. Also a complete con with the breakfast!

Room Tip: Don't go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I never like to argue...however. There will certainly have been toast, coffee and fruit for breakfast, and I find it disappointing that you would suggest otherwise, there will also have been cereal & croissants (if you weren't on the terms that include a full breakfast)
A full breakfast is charged for if not already included in your booking, (they are £6.50, not £6.95), if no-one came to serve you how did you get a cooked breakfast to comment that it was 'small basic and poor'?
Over half an hour to check in? Half an hour is a very long time, having worked here for 15 years, I know it is impossible for anyone to be half an hour to be checked in.
All showers have been checked, today, and are working.
All meals on the menu specify what is served with them, if you would have liked a side salad, or some additional vegetables they would have come if ordered.
If you needed extra coffee and toilet rolls, we would have provided on request.
All rooms have central heating, plus an additional electric heater for extra heat.
Criticism is more often a help to us than upsetting, however, I find this review to be a work of fiction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.