We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler to your Saves list
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

First class service. Many thanks to Duncan and his team for a first class Northumbrian welcome Although others have said the hotel is a little dated what do would expect from an 16th century coaching inn. The hotel may have an old world charm but it also has all the modern amenities - best of all the staff are great - without fail they all great you with smiles and go out of their way to provide the best service they can

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    70
    26
    24
    9
See reviews for
29
109
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Tankerville Arms for a week with 9 others while walking the St Cuthberts Way
Let me put things right, the furniture is not dated; it is old, good and suits this old coaching Inn.
Our room was clean, very comfortable and spacious, The staff where helpful and polite.
The food was first class and presented pretty well, one night some things were not available, the waiter apologised and gave us a better choice
There is lots of parking space.
There IS a problem with the hot water, in that it takes ages to run a bath, our shower was either running VERY hot or VERY cold. I reported this and was told it could be fixed that day, we told them to wait until we left as we did not use it much
We all 11 loved this place, even if it does need a bit of TLC on the outside top floor dormers. Would I stay again? Certainly. Would I recommend it? Certainly.
Please Tankerville, don’t change the “dated” furniture, it suits the place fine, thank you for looking after my group
The only really bad thing was an extremely unpleasant woman guest at the hotel, who had a problem with 11 people on our table enjoying them selves and laughing, we were not rowdy, not drunk, just happy, the couple were put in there place by one of our group who is usually a very quiet man

Room Tip: Go walking with Ramblers Holidays!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you, it was lovely to have you all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pleasant but a little dated. The food is superior pub grub or a little better. My room was adequate and the bathroom newly refurbished. However, the mattress had seen ( many) better days! Unfortunately, Wooler and the hotel were unable to serve sandwiches or food at 14.45 on a Saturday which, for a tourist area is surprising ( the milk bar by the caravan site at the entrance to Woooler was open Neil 16.50 and ver good). The hotel staff were all extremely peasant as were the drivers for Glen Valley 'buses!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We do sandwiches all day, everyday, so I will look into why you couldn't get any. Also, if you could just drop me an email with your room number on, I will check out the bed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved The Tankerville Arms, Clean, comfy and friendly. Great breakfasts, evening meal not so good . A great base for travelling to Seahouses where we took the boat to Inner Farne to see the Puffins, nesting Terns with their sweet newly-hatched chicks (top tip: take a hat or hood to wear when on the island as the parent birds tend to peck your head protecting their young!) and seals on the sandbanks. Bamburgh Castle and Lindisfarne are a must. So with the hotel and activities, a four-star break.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you! We are a fab base for exploring North Northumberland. Glad you had a nice time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Managed to get a good deal on the nicest room (as was being used as the Honeymoon suite after we had stayed!) Good food, not huge portions but plenty for us. Comfortable bed and clean room if slightly dated styling. V. friendly (and witty) staff especially Teri. Just 20 mins drive from the Holy Island of Lindisfarne which was the main reason for our trip

Room Tip: Rooms to rear of pty overlook big garden, front are on busyish road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your visit! Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We needed a break for one night away from the hustle bustle of our busy lives. The Tankerville Arms greeted us with a friendly welcome. The room ticked all the boxes for us and the evening meal was delicious. Very friendly staff and clean accommodation. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much, lovely to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that this hotel is very dated. The room we stayed in was good, but others in our party were given rooms that were not of an acceptable standard.We were disappointed that the bar closed very early on a Saturday evening . Breakfast was very poor and had obviously been reheated. The portions sizes were very small and no late service on a Sunday morning. When we came to pay our bill had been calculated wrongly. Such a shame that a lovely building did not live up to its full potential. I don't think we will return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.