We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and fantastic puds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Save Saved
You added Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wooler
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly and fantastic puds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just home from 5 nights at the "Tanky". Very reasonably priced both for the room and meals. The staff were very welcoming right from the moment we arrived and we would especially like to mention Terry and Elaine for their warmth and helpfulness. Breakfast was certainly adequate and the evening meals were filling and tasty with puddings to die for ( especially the cheesecake and parfait). Only slight grumble was the menu was not changed during our stay and although there was a daily special we would have liked more options. Maybe you might consider a midweek change? Room was clean and comfortable but floorboards very creaky . Loved the keyholding bears. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    60
    24
    23
    8
See reviews for
24
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our two night stay with breakfast, courtesy of a KGB voucher, was all that we could have wished for. We were allocated room 6 which was in fact a family room with a double bed, two single beds and a cot. Our bathroom was functional and adequate. The usual hospitality tray was provided and appreciated.
We found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating and a significant plus feature from our point of view was that the hotel is extremely dog friendly. Our Westie was allowed in the bar and of course in our room. An extensive garden and good walks in the area resulted in our dog awarding the visit five stars but he did grumble that some greedy dog had emptied the dog treat jar that is kept in the bar.
WiFi is available in the public rooms and bedrooms but its performance is variable and sometimes non existent.
Overall our stay was enjoyable and we would consider returning when revisiting this area.

Room Tip: We found room 6 to our liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights late May and found the hotel ok and comfortable. It's a little dated in decor but there was no faults with the room or the service we received. We got a good deal via KGB for two nights so its worth checking out the site for offers. The hotel was clean and room fine, breakfast was ok and overall the hotel provided a good location for traveling around the local area. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food. We would stay he again if we was in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The web site seems to be from a different hotel! The table layout, food presentation and menu all look great, but the reality is somewhat different. Starters were from the 1970s - whitebait, prawn cocktail and devilled eggs - rather than the fish or meat platters or vegetable terrine shown on the sample on-line menu. There was a strange selection of main courses with little sign of seasonal specials such as "Catch of the Day". The food was poorly presented and not well executed. Creamy mash was lumpy, lamb cutlets were over-cooked, cabbage was burned and gravy seemed to be from a packet. A very nice apple crumble was spoiled by custard that seemed to be made from powder using water. The quality was not reflected in the price - £15 for the aforementioned lamb and £10 for 3 sausage and some lumpy mash with gravy. Poor quality bar food at restaurant prices. No-one enquired as to whether we had enjoyed the meal . The whole place also needs decorating, and the sticky tables in the bar had not seen a clean cloth in a while. Shan't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Comments received, and we are acting on everything mentioned. To clarify, nothing is from a packet, change of chef has caused the menus to be wrong on the website. These have since changed again, and the brand new menus will be online today.
Tables are certainly clean, had a slight issue with over cleaning which stripped a layer of varnish from the top making them a bit sticky to the touch, re-varnishing of tables currently under-way.
Having said all that, genuinely sorry you did not enjoy it, and would love you to give us another try one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here as part of a large group of cyclists in early May 2013. The staff are trying very hard and are very accommodating, but the places appears to be on its last legs. Poor quality over priced food and desperately in need of decoration. This could be a lovely place but is missing many of the required elements. Echoing the comments of reviewers below, home made food makes all the difference.

Hats of to the FOH staff who are trying very hard, that said, they're flogging a dead horse.

James

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
All food is home made, but I am sorry if you did not enjoy it, we are always looking closely at our menus and addressing any issues raised by guests.
We do try very hard, and certainly do not feel we are 'flogging a dead horse'
The decor is not to everyone's taste, but we have decorated as we felt a 17th century coaching inn should be.
I would love for you to contact me direct, elaborate somewhat on the missing 'required elements' your feedback is important to us to keep this horse kicking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This gem of a hotel is ideal for visiting Durham, Holy Island, the Farne Islands, Berwick, the Cheviot Hills, and only just over an hour from Edinburgh. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were well furnished and comfortable and included 2 radiators and a hot water bottle! The view from the room couldn't be faulted, across the hotel gardens and across the hills. All the meals were excellent - freshly cooked and ample portions.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 had the biggest bathroom I've ever seen!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your visit, hopefully see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

First of all id say the ladies working behind the bar make the pub a welcoming place , unfortunately though the food did not live up to the service . Poor quality, very overpriced. Myself and 2 friends all had disappointing meals. Rather than criticise id like to offer advice . In the pub we went to the night before the food was homemade, even the chips , makes such a difference, if a meal comes with salad you expect a range of salad not just cress and tomato. The place itself is quite nice, nice beer garden, staff, really dog friendly but won't be returning due to overpriced poor food

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTankerville A, General Manager at Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, rest assured we are working to resolve your points raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler

Address: Cottage Rd, Wooler NE71 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the Cheviot Hills in the quaint town of Wooler, this family-run former Coaching Inn offers a welcoming ambiance with cosy log fires, seasonal cuisine, stunning scenery, free Wi-Fi and parking. Originally built in the 17th Century by the Earl of Tankerville, it has a long history of providing comfort and warmth to travellers wishing to explore the beauty of the Northumbrian countryside. To this day, the hotel has retained this traditional spirit of hospitality and has garnered a fantastic reputation for its friendly and helpful service. Central to this is the cultivation of a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere supported by some wonderful views, lovely gardens and a sense of charm and style that effortlessly evokes the captivating allure of its vibrant past. The Hotel offers 17 en-suite bedrooms and, as benefits a building of this age, each one is wonderfully unique and full of individual character. Tastefully decorated in a style reflective of the wider property, what these rooms do share is a commitment to providing a high standard of comfort and a peaceful night's sleep. Every room also features complimentary Wi-Fi access, freeview TV, hairdryer, direct-dial telephone and tea and coffee making facilities as well as some fantastic views of the gardens and the surrounding countryside. There are room types to suit all kinds of traveller, including single, classic and superior double or twin options. What's more there is also a separate 2-bedroom Garden House in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.