We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Bull Inn

The Black Bull Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Black Bull Inn to your Saves list
The Black Bull Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street, Wooler NE71 6BY , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Biddulph, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for three nights in room 12, one of the bigger rooms at the front. I can imagine that anyone looking for the featureless boxes that you might find in a recently built hotel by one of the big chains, might find things to pick faults over. For us, the signs that this is a two hundred year old coaching inn just made it more pleasurable. Granted, we could hear people talking outside the front door on Saturday night, but we stay up late ourselves, so it was no problem for us.
Other reviewers have noted the hearty menu and portion size, but it is worth noting that they do not serve an evening meal on Sundays. That simply requires a visit to the Milan restaurant at the back of the inn- and that is no chore! The food there is very good and reasonably priced too. You would be advised to phone to book though. It is very busy at times. Finally, if you are from other parts of the country,or outside, take note that you are going to be in the place where there are the friendliest people you will find anywhere. This definitely includes the staff and locals at the Black Bull.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
46
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BROUGH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our room had been recently refurbished, was spotlessly clean, lovely and warm and had everything we needed - even face flannels.

The breakfast was good, too. Apart from the cooked element, you could help yourself to as much as you wanted. Altogether, it was excellent value.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed two nights and were delighted with the accommodation. Our room was large and comfortable with a very good bed. The bathroom had one of the largest showers I have seen in a hotel. This place is very definitely good value for money. The bar area could do with a bit of attention but to be fair it is does function as one of the local pubs. I don't know if we will be through Wooler again but if we do we will have no problems about booking into the Black Bull..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Like most of my hotel stays, they are only overnight, on business. The Black Bull, I booked on Late Rooms.com, as it was on my way home from Edinburgh.The hotel is a splendid old building , with lots of charm and period features. I took my wife with me, and asked for a room as near to the ground floor as possible, as she has not long had a hip replacement. on our arrival we were greeted most warmly, booked in very promptly and shown to our room. This was on the first floor, up a lovely old wide staircase. Having booked a standard double room, we were very supprised when the door was opened, to see we had been upgraded to the Yearvling suite, with a 4 poster bed and a jaccuzzi. The room was delightful, high ceiling,extremely clean,and well furnished, the sofa in the bay window was great to see the world go by. Food was excelent and the portions very generous, we both had the Haddock and chips.It was lovely to have fresh fish and home made chips, not frozen and pre-portioned. Breakfast too was just as good, as many cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit as you liked. Tea and coffee as much as you could want, and a classic full English, with a touch of haggis if you wished.
All in all a very pleasant stay, and somewhere I would have no hesitation in recommending to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matfen, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just got back from a three night stay at the Black Bull "Hideaway Suite" in Wooler with my husband and two kids (9 & 11). Although we always call in here for an excellently kept pint of real ale when we visit the area, this was the first time we've stayed there. The Hideaway Suite is tucked away up the little alley between the back of the hotel and the Milan Restaurant. It is really very well equipped, with a full kitchen including microwave, fridge, freezer, kettle, complimentary coffees/teas etc, crockery, pans and all you'd need for a fully self-catering stay. Everything was exceptionally clean (and I am a notorious fuss-pot for checking these things!), and fresh-smelling. The small double bedroom looked lovely and cosy and has an en-suite with shower over bath, toilet and sink, with plenty of clean white fluffy towels and free toiletries. The other room was used for putting up the kids and had a large sofa bed, small sofa, table and 4 chairs and a writing desk as well as a chest of drawers for their clothes: all in all, a nice space to spend a short holiday in. We ate at Milan on the first night and really splashed out - husband had the best T-bone steak he's had in 20 years and I had the fillet which was cooked to perfection to my order and also generous. Kids were happy with good pasta dishes and friendly service. Breakfast the next day was a bit over-generous so we had no lunch or very much for tea to be honest. They were happy to change our breakfast order every day depending on how we were feeling, and the poached eggs were perfect! I ate in the bar with kid #2 one evening; we both had scampi which was served with good home done chips and was excellent value for money. I would really recommend the Black Bull Hotel for a bar meal or short stay as a good value, friendly and very clean place. I will be returning in the autumn for another relaxing few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

on a recent visit to wooler we thought we would get our lunch here, ordered scampi and chips and giant Yorkshire pudding filled with sausage and gravy. both were lovely and the chips are proper chips, not frozen. one thing i would say is make sure you're hungry!! the portions are massive

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have had numerous stays, have experienced many of the rooms and each time has been an enjoyable stay, even in the hottest week this July. Clean, friendly, bar food and the Milan are great places to eat, I`d say the bar out shines the Milan on chips. You get what you pay for and a little bit more. Can`t forget the regulars of the Black Bull who equally make you welcome. Those that knock the Black Bull, Christine and her team, should stick to their Ritz or Dorchester, l know where l like to stay, amongst people who make you welcome and that goes for the owners too. Highly recommended pub, B& B, Milan restaurant.

Room Tip: The high street can be noisy on a Friday night with revellers from a near by disco so if you think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Inn

Address: High Street, Wooler NE71 6BY , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Black Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Inn Wooler, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Bull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.