We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return visit, still as good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millyard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wooler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millyard House
Save
You added Millyard House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 South Rd, Wooler NE71 6NL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Wooler B&B and Inns
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A return visit, still as good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our second visit to Millyard House and I shouldn't imagine it will be our last (especially since the weather has thus far prevented us from trekking up the Cheviot). It's a bit like a challenge to see whether Ginny and Bob have missed some small detail. I've failed thus far. Everything is provided to make your stay as comfortable as it possibly could be. I've become rather partial to a drop of sherry as provided in the room - quite a civilised way of finishing off the evening. Ginny and Bob were excellent company and extremely helpful when we returned from the wettest walk imaginable with soaking gear. If you are coming to this part of the country (and why wouldn't you, it's lovely and with so much to see) you might as well stay here, as you'll be hard pressed to find better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
86
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

At the risk of doing ourselves out of somewhere brilliant to stay I must tell you about this place. We've just stayed for 3 nights, and in spite of the snow and cold, we had a wonderful time. The rooms are lovely, the breakfasts to die for (try the bubble and squeak cakes!) and Bob and Ginny are as helpful as can be..maps to borrow, tea and scones on arrival, forgotten toiletries replaced, chocolate bars after a walk.Check, check check and check. Just go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay; secluded, spotless, every detail thought of, everything in working order and well-maintained. Our room was comfortable and cosy with lovely cotton bedding and a powerful hot shower. The hosts are friendly and conversational but not intrusive and seem good at reading guests' signals about how much interaction they want. Attentive and helpful and go the extra mile. Lots of little touches and a really lovely breakfast with lots of choices, including lots for vegetarians. We paid a very reasonable price, less than at other hotels, and felt we had been very lucky.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here in July 12 and were very impressed by the genuine hospitality and welcome from the owners.
We had an outstanding breakfast (none better anywhere) in a delightful conservatory looking out into a secluded cottage garden.
Highly recommended - we shall definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Couldn't ask for more and I wouldn't expect to find better. Friendly, clean, comfortable, quiet and quaint. Breakfast was fabulous - you name it and Bob & Ginny have got it, often local and always tasty. If only all B&Bs were like this!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

thanks to bob & ginny had a lovely nights stay with them..couldn't have been more helpful.great location for a quite relaxing weekend. 4 nice friendly pubs just 5 minutes walk away restaurant and a take away. shame we couldn't have stayed longer but definitely next time.
thanks for the scones and the home made muffins oh and our flask of coffee for the journey home :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Would like a coup of tea? Scones? Anything we can offer you? We were met with these generous questions. The feet were hurting, while being offered a glass of sherry placed by the bedside. White table cloth, classical music at breakfast (at the right volume!), wonderful food and excellent servise. Even Dubbin's Active shoe protection was provided for. Most appreciated - never forgotten. G and D

Room Tip: No swimming pool - if it had been - I suppose it would have been clean and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millyard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millyard House

Address: 12 South Rd, Wooler NE71 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wooler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wooler
Hotel Class:4 star — Millyard House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18c. building in a quiet location in this lovely Northumberland Town. 5 minutes from the High Street, 25 minutes from Holy Island and the coast. We have two comfortable en-suite rooms, both doubles but available for single occupancy if required. An award winning breakfast from our extensive menu served whenever in the conservatory with garden views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millyard House Wooler, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millyard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.