We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roxburgh Guest House

Roxburgh Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spittal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roxburgh Guest House
Save
You added Roxburgh Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   117 Main Street, Spittal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Spittal B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3 nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Eileen and Jim could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. Our room was a double en suite which was clean and tidy. The beach is at the back of the Guest house and some rooms have a sea view so do ask before you book. Breakfast was enough to set anyone up for the day! We stayed because our family were on a holiday camp nearby which by the time we were free to book it had become ridiculously expensive so this B&B a mile away suited us fine to cycle to see them. This turned out to be a very lucky accident.It was really quiet overnight and we could not hear the other guests who were also staying. If we are back in the area we would definitely try to book a stay here first. Beautiful area, lovely town. We have come away feeling thoroughly rested.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms have a lovely view but no ensuite. Rooms looking out toward the street are still grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The couple that own this place couldn't be nicer nor more helpful. They treated us like long lost friends as soon as we arrived and not just as another paying guest like most other places. This is by no means a modern establishment but they have worked hard to decorate and furnish it although maybe a bit mismatched. Overall it's a very acceptable place to stay, is right on the beach and promenade which is great if you don't like hills. Spittal itself doesn't appear to have much in the way of eateries but is only a short drive from berwick town centre or a good walk for anyone of reasonable fitness. Berwick itself has some surprisingly good eateries, if you can find them....see hide hill. you must walk around the town on the battlement walls. Some good views and a bit of history and art while you walk. I'd recommend the Roxburgh guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a lovely room at the top overlooking the sea. We could lie in bed and listen to the waves and seagulls. It comes with a shower and basin but we shared a toilet, which was never an issue. The room was large and very comfortable. Our hosts were fabulous and breakfast excellent. We were sorry we only had one night here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights after touring round Scotland then watching the golf.
We were very pleased with our visit & Eileen is an absolute star who really does care about her guests having a good time which isn't so common these days.
We didn't have a sea view & it was really hot with no breeze in the room but that is no-ones fault & unusual with our climate these days.
Breakfast was good & nothing was too much trouble.
We had a really lovely meal in the Rob Roy which is about a 20 minute walk away -food excellent.
Would definitely recommend & hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you want a B&B that offers a genuinely friendly welcome and which is based in a nice quiet location then this is the place for you.

We stayed in Room 6 for two nights – 11 & 12/07/13.

This room has a bay window with sea views and we spent a good hour or so each evening watching the world go by on the promenade and beach with a refreshing sea breeze to cool us down. It was also nice to wake up to the sound of the waves in the morning.

Room 6 has a separate, private bathroom which is about 6 feet from the room door. Although an en-suite would have been preferable we would have had to sacrifice the view so not a problem.

Breakfast was 8am to 9am and we cannot fault the service or the food.

There is plenty of parking to the front of the B&B.

It is a 1.2 mile walk to Berwick so about a 20-25 minute stroll but there are buses you can take, just ask Eileen or Jimmy for a bus timetable.

Suffice to say we had a nice stay and would book again if we were to visit the area.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Jim and Eileen welcomed us warmly , room clean and tidy , view onto beach and shore was as previous reviews lovely and very relaxing, with the window open we heard the waves gently breaking onto the shore as we went to sleep , brekfast was spot on and kept us going till late afternoon ,
Couldnt fault anything , rea;;y enjoyed our visit and will defintely come back again .

Room Tip: room five , 2nd floor looks onto beach and the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Eileen and Jim were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable. We had a fantastic view of the sea, which is one of the main reasons we chose this guesthouse, and the location is perfectly situated between Berwick, to the north, and the coastal walks to the south, starting virtually on the doorstep.

Jon and Alison.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roxburgh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxburgh Guest House

Address: 117 Main Street, Spittal, Berwick upon Tweed TD15 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick upon Tweed > Spittal
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Spittal
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxburgh Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxburgh Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.