We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge the book by the cover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beach House Hotel to your Saves list
Beach House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12A St Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 26 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Don't judge the book by the cover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed one night at the Beach House Hotel and would have stayed a second night if the price had been a bit better. Generally we have a preference for older buildings that have some history and architectural merit, This is a relatively new place that is well maintained by friendly owners and staff. The room was comfortable, affording a clear view of the islands. The breakfast was spectacular with the kippers perfectly cooked, making us wish that we had dined there the previous evening, and the tiered dining room gives a good view of the sea to all diners. Our venture into town to eat was not a big success. The hotel was full of repeat customers on a golf weekend, who clearly knew about the chef's prowess.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
52
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here on a four night golf tour. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The decore was fresh, clean and simple. The rooms were a reasonable size with good ensuite. they were comfortable and spacious. The food was simple but well cooked, plentiful and well presented.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of The Farne Islands, some the hills, some other buildings and some only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Despite some reviews we could not have had a better experience on our long weekend stay. It was great value for money. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was 1st class. Fresh fruit salad, fresh kippers and kedgeree on offer. The hosts, Malcolm and Hazel aimed to please and Sharon, the manager was invaluable. The location was ideal for a walking break and only minutes from the town centre. The lounge and dining room had a beautiful outlook to The Farne Islands. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are particularly recommended unless you fancy a four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Dennis at Northumberland Golf Tours convinced us, despite earlier reviews, that he had very positive experience of this 3 star hotel with its view of Frane Islands so 11 golfers booked a four-night stay. We were not disappointed. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, the bar was well-stocked and spacious and one could equally relax in the well-furnished lounge.The dining room was sorely in the charge of Sharon Scott who coped with the demands of up to 30 guests during our stay with humour and efficiency. The words Trojan worker come to mind when looking at her contribution to our enjoyment. We particularly liked the breakfasts. Our enjoyment was enriched by an invitation from the other party, 20 or so Scottish Ramblers, who invited us to a joint quiz (we lost). The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Seahouses.

Room Tip: I had room 9 at the rear - very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We could not have had a better welcome and from then on every effort was made to please our golfing party of 10 - all very experienced in years of golfing trips. Hazel and Malcolm were great and Sharon was the star, attending to every detail. Would recommend this hotel to all as well as Northumberland Golf Tours who also did all that we could have asked for. It was a truly superb long weekend in the best of locations. Will remember those breakfasts as well as the superb view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We travelled with a golfing party of 10. (Northumberland Golf Tours - excellent) and were made very welcome. The rooms were clean and all that we expected. (It is a 3 star). Our room did not have any curtains but the blinds kept out prying eyes, we did complain and they offered us a diiferent room but the size of ours was preferable. Large room with single and double bed.
Hazel opened the bar when ever we wanted it and plenty of room in the lounge. The breakfast was first class. All freshly cooked and hot.
Would we go back - yes. Comfortable and a great base for touring, or golfinfg

Room Tip: No tips as you should not spend time in the room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Top place top people top location

Stayed for the second time on a golfing trip. Loved it. Hazel Malcolm and Sharon were top drawer. Made us all feel really welcome. Really good breakfast nice clean rooms decent bar. Couldn't do enough for us

We're back in the region in October and will look no further than Beach House for our digs. If you're golfing up there look up Northumberland Golf Tours they'll look after you and if you're boozing in Seahouses don't go to the Ship where all the tourists go. The Black Swan is miles better!

Room Tip: Ask for room 20 or 22 for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel

Address: 12A St Aidans, Seahouses NE68 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Beach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Seahouses, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.