We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Nights at The Bamburgh Castle Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bamburgh Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Save
You added The Bamburgh Castle Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Four Nights at The Bamburgh Castle Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As always we go away for our anniversary so this time we went to Seahouses & booked in at The Bamburgh Castle Inn.
Well its situated in the centre of really small fishing village, great view of the harbour & all the way across to the castle. There was a winter special on so it payed to eat in at night, restaurant great & service very efficient, self service breakfast which was really good, would stay again if go up that way again

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a shower & only a bath, would have preferred a shower but ay not to worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay - and for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary, Hope to welcome you back again next year if not before! Some rooms have showers, some baths and some both.. If you have any preference just ask a member of our team when you book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    145
    70
    24
    24
See reviews for
99
212
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at bamburgh castle inn from Xmas eve to Boxing Day and I must say its one of the best Xmas I have had.

They could not do enough for us and we took our golden retriever to stay too which he was made most welcome and could go into a certain part of the bar area for real fast and in the evening.

The hotel has a winter break special which is the best deal ever :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
A lovely review - thanks - and we appreciate the five stars too. We're so pleased you enjoyed such a special Christmas with us - it's a lovely time of year and we go all out to make sure all our guests and customers have a brilliant time - our winter break rates are excellent and include Christmas and New Year too. Plus as you say, you can bring your dog to stay with us, so no one gets left at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

by far a fantastic experience, wish i could have stayed longer, stunning room, comfy bed, pillows, sea view all the way to holy island, dining room over looked the harbour, dispite it being freezing and raining it was so lovely, great deal of £44.50 for B&B and evening meal which was stunning, tasty, plenty of it,hot, and the breakfast was beautiful ,self service but all fresh, hubby wanted poached eggs which were quick and beautifully done, nothing was to much trouble for the staff, will definantly go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
A lovely review which sums up what we do best - giving our guests a great holiday with us. Come back and see us again soon - and thank you for the five stars :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a two night stay on their inclusive package deal of £40 pp for dinner, bed & breakfast - which is excellent value. Beautiful sea view from most rooms. Rooms are clean & tidy - but in some places the fixtures are getting a bit tired - messy sealing around the bath and the odd rusty screw. Reasonable selection of food - which was good but not outstanding. Hotel was over heated in a number of areas.

Staff extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the feedback. We are currently working through our rooms in an ongoing maintenence programme, but I will flag up your comments about the sealing. Being so close to the sea means that our sea facing rooms do get their fair share of sea spray which can cause rust, so we do keep an eye out for any rust damage which is dealt with. Hope you'll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited again this Twixmas (2012) and it was as good as previous years. Sea view room large with a comfortable bed and good size bathroom. Floorboards still creak around the hotel but that's all part and parcel of its quirkiness. Food was very good with huge portions, I had to order the lighter/children's portion otherwise I would now be at least 2 sizes larger. Manager Ryan and all his staff made our stay memorable and although each year we say we will visit pastures new, we still return to Bamburgh Castle Inn!! Thank for yet another wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 20, 21 and 25 are big with seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so mcuh for a lovely review and for five stars. We value this greatly and hope to see you again next Twixmas?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived 24th December and stayed until 27th. Food was excellent and a good choice available. Staff were very laid back and friendly. Rooms were spotlessly clean, basic but very comfortable. Had some lovely walks and have never seen so many dogs in one place, a dog lovers heaven!
Christmas lunch was nice but could be improved upon, what suprised us and a few other guests was the bar area was closed to residents for 2 hours in the afternoon/early evening so the staff could have their xmas meal. Now don't get me wrong, they deserved a break, but surely just one member of staff could have been on duty in the bar area (someone who hadn't been on duty earlier). I know there was a few disgruntled residents over the closure.
BUT all in all I would definately recommend this hotel and would re visit. Final moan....please get rid of those toasters and replace with catering strength ones...I was the lady that had the toaster that stuck with smoke billowing out, which set the alarms off.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for the review and for positive comments. We do close for two hours due to a condition in our liquor licence. We apologise for any inconvenience. I will feeback your comments about the toaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived on the 28th December 2012 for a four night stay. Departing on 1st January 2013. This was a business and New Year chill out visit, all in one.
If you are visiting Northumberland a beautiful part of the UK and require Comfortable Beds, Nice Clean Rooms, Excellent Food, Professional, pleasant and well mannered staff, Extensive Menu and Chefs who know how to cook and present food. Couple this with a view to die for (from the Restaurant and some bedrooms), along with a special Winter Rate for Bed, Breakfast and Evening Dinner. A rate you will be hard pressed to find anywhere else around the UK for this level of comfort and expertise. The Bamburgh Castle Inn, Seahouses, managed by Ryan (General manager) and his Staff is the ultimate get away experience.
New Years Eve with a Live Band, the camaraderie amongst staff and guests and culinary delights made for a year end to remember.
Don't take my review as gospel, just book it, go and experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms go first and are usually booked well in advance. The far end rooms overlooking the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Wow - what a fab review. Many thanks for this. It's great to get this feedback as the team all work so hard to make sure you, our guests, have a brilliant time. We hope you return again and thank you so much again for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bamburgh Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.