We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch with excellent views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bamburgh Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seahouses
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bamburgh Castle Inn
Save
You added The Bamburgh Castle Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch with excellent views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We only visited for lunch but we had a very pleasant experience at Bamburgh Castle Inn. The young lady's who served us at the bar for drinks and when we ordered food were very friendly and professional and courteous. There are beautiful views of the Farne islands which were an excellent accompaniment to the good home cooked pub food available. The menu has a good selection of traditional meals and even something to suit a fussy eater. Especially enjoyed were the potato skins. I feel the meal was good value for money compared with other eateries and the drink selection was good.

I would definitely return to both Seahouses and the Bamburgh Castle Inn in the future and I would definitely like to stay in the rooms in the future when next in the North east.

Thank you for a lovely welcoming experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your clear and comprehensive, positive review. We try at all times to go the extra mile to look after customers and make sure they enjoy eating or / and staying with us. We are a favourite among visitors and local people too, which is always good. We hope you will return to Northumberland and stay with us then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    165
    74
    26
    24
See reviews for
109
245
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place has a comfortable feel as soon as you walk in. It's been decorated to a high standard and with a lot of thought.The best thing of all is the very helpful and cheerful approach of all staff without exception - everyone is clearly working hard to give a good experience to all who visit.

The food? Good quality starter, and main course. The only drawback - when I asked about the size of a pasta portion, the barmaid anticipated my question and assure me it was ample. Maybe for a mouse or a flea, but for an adult human being, I fear not! It was finished well before people on the next table who were served before me, and did not strike me as picky eaters. At least it fuelled me for cycling to Dunbar the following day in high winds, so I suppose cannot have been too bad!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. My word - cycling to Dunbar! Good on you! Hope you left us fully recharged! We do exactly as oyu say in the review - offer an inn with accommodation that is welcoming, clean, comfy and the perfect base for exploring the local area. Our location makes us popular with cyclists like yourself heading out on the Coast and Castles Sustrans route. Thank you for the feedback about the pasta portion size - we usually get told off for being too big with our portions, but we'll take a look again at the pasta. Hoep to see you again soon! Happy cycling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here, just ate. Based on that we wouldn't book a stay. There was a bit of a wait for our food but it was busy and a Saturday evening so that wasn't a real problem. The food however was. My "roasted" salmon and veg was poached rather than roasted as it arrived in an inch deep puddle of olive oil. When asked, very courteously, by our waitress if we were unhappy with the food, I explained what the problem was. She then relayed a message from the chef about how food is roasted. He is sadly mistaken if he thinks that is how to roast veg. I didn't want to argue about it but a puddle of oil is a puddle of oil in any kitchen! You would expect a professional chef to know the difference!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
In response to your question, What eactly is roasted the Cambridge dictionary definition is: to cook food in an oven or over a fire.

We would love to have an open fire to cook on, but we don't! So your salmon was indeed cooked in an oven in a cast iron pot, as it is described on our menu - Fillet of salmon, baby potatoes, cherry tomatoes, green pepper, basil, balsamic vinegar and olive oil
all oven roasted in one pot. As the dish cooks, the juices come out of the fish and vegetables, which our professional chef (and scores of happy customers) agree is best kept with the dish and not poured away so diners can enjoy the flavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in late September the room was nicely decorated, clean and had an excellent view out over the Farne Islands.Staff were friendly and attentive, breakfast served 8am -9am could not be faulted but we did get down early.
We also got a room without a shower (24) but it didn't spoil the enjoyment.
I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.
Restuarant does get full at night but that is a testament to the excellent food they serve, we ate there on the second night, the first night we did eat at Wetherspoons in Berwick (can't really fault that for value either).

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for a very fair review. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future. Sea view rooms do book up quickly, so get in quick!

We're proud to be popular with locals and visitors aliek for food, hence why the inn is bustling. We're a happy inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived just before check in time and were greeted by a very nice member of staff who gave us our room key and how to get there. When we got to room we had a quick look round the room was very clean ,although it did not have a shower which was a disapointment.We went down for our evening meal only to be greeted by a very full place, not just guest ,so we went a little further a feild for our meal .Just a thought for the owners it would be nice if when booking in you were asked if you would like a table for your evening meal as they lost out on our custom that night.Brekfast was average at the most,the 2nd night we had asked to have a table reserved and we both enjoyed our meals which were well above a good standard.Just one more thing the staff were very good but I didnt appreciate being called fella by 1 of the bar staff. All in all we enjoyed our stay apart from no shower.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for leaving a review - we always appreciate your feedback. Our staff genuinely aim to please and are great examples of the famous North East hospitality. We will pass on your feelings about being called 'Fella', which would have been made in genuine friendliness.

Please do ask if you would prefer a stand up shower. Our en suite rooms, which you kindly state are spotlessly clean and well maintained - are a mix of baths with shower fittings and showers.

Because we are a pub with rooms, we do not currently reserve tables, unless for particulaly large pre-booked parties. I will flag your suggestion with the management however, so thank you for raising it.

While we cannot state our prices (not allowed on tripadvisor) we aim to offer excellent value for money accommodation and food in one of the best locations on the North east coastline.

Hope to see you again in the future and please do specify on booking about your stand up shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is in an absolutelyfanatstic position overlooking the harbour of Seahouses

The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable

The bar areas were very cosy and the staff were very helpful and pleasant

The only gripe was that the food was nothing special and the chips were frozen which to me is just laziness

Definately worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but book well in advance as they go quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Sorry we're just replying now... Thanks for the review. We promise frozen chips aren't laziness. it's what we can physically do. If you read our reviews you'll see our fish and chips receive rave reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here for years up till 2006, with my parents, we had some lovely holidays.
So, having read recent reviews here, i was a little apprehensive as to what we would find.
But it was fine, we had a great time, room 13 was spot on, big comfy beds, lots of plump pillows, and had a surprisingly strong power shower over a bath.
We had a great view of the farne Isles from the room.
We ate here three times, two lunches, and one evening dinner, it wasn't 'wetherspoons' as some people on here have alleged, it was high quality food, served very nicely, and good portions as well, there is obviously a good chef in the kitchen.
The breakfast were all fine, we were there four nights, everything is self service, but it was fresh, and plentiful, we were all down for just on 0800, so didnt have a problem.
The Bamburgh bangers were great.
All the staff were great, from check in through the bar, to the youngsters doing the rooms, always a nice smile, and a nice hello.
It was a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Room 13, great bed, shower, space, and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
What a top man and a top review from someone who uses Tripadvisor correctly! We offer great value food and accommodation as a pub with rooms - in a great location.

We are not a Weatherspoons nor are we a restaurant. We offer good, home cooked food which is all made to order.

Thank you for using Tripadvsior to leave a positive review! Come back and see us again soon please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bamburgh Castle Inn

Address: Seahouses, Seahouses NE68 7SQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bamburgh Castle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Bamburgh Castle Hotel Seahouses
Bamburgh Castle Seahouses
Hotel Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle Hotel House Sea
The Bamburgh Castle Inn Seahouses, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bamburgh Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.