We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Fish Restaurant

Neptune Fish Restaurant
3 Seafield Rd, Seahouses, England
01665 721310
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Seahouses
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
preston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had been told this was the best fish & chip restaurant in Seahouses, if so, the others must be very poor. Visited late afternoon, no staff present to meet and greet. Went to the counter and, spoke with an unfriendly youth who told us to sit at any table, choose from the menu and return to him to order and pay. Having taken my payment, he proceeded to produce two pots of coffee missing a vital ingredient - coffee. We had ordered haddock and chips, to be fair the fish was excellent, nice batter and good taste. Sadly the chips were not freshly cooked and had been reheated. The whole experience was unpleasant, the staff didn't thank us when leaving or wish us goodbye, perhaps they realised they wouldn't be seeing us again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    102
    65
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Service And The Best Fish And Chips In Seahouses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Neptune Fish Restaurant, Seahouses

A very helpful and friendly waitress greeted us as we walked in.

The restaurant was spotlessly clean and the cutlery looked like it had been polished before being neatly laid out.

We ordered Haddock and Chips and Cod and Chips which were freshly cooked to order and delicious.

Two nights earlier we had tried the chips from another establishment nearby but we found them a little disappointing and staff the staff unwelcoming and a bit surly.

Neptune Fish Restaurant is the way to go for great fish and chips in Seahouses.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's a fish and chip shop & restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The title says it all - the fish and chips were good, the place was clean, what else?


There were lots of waiters/waitresses to serve the food, but at first we didn't realise we had to go to a small counter to place our order. There was a little confusion, when I ordered the set fish & chips, bread & butter and a pot of tea for one, and then I wanted fish & chips, mushy peas - this didn't fit into a description on the menu - whoa hold it there, what do we charge! I was still charged for the bread and butter, but got either the peas or my diet coke instead of the tea.

Would we return? There a three fish and chip restaurants in Seahouses, so will probably try one of the others next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very nice chips - I like to eat in but you get massive portions to take away. All the food is cooked fresh and the mushy peas are the best around. Waitress are nice and friendly and quick to serve had to wait a few minutes once as they cook the food fresh and had ran out of something but didnt wait long well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Re-heated food, very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

food was not freshly cooked, it appeared to have been reheated, the fish lacked flavour. I would not visit this fish bar again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Fish Restaurant also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to Neptune Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.