We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamburgh Castle Inn

Bamburgh Castle Inn
Seahouses, England
(01665) 720 283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 15 Restaurants in Seahouses
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a lovely meal but were surprised at the cost. Nice to see a choice of veggie meals for my wife. Disappointed that the cheese board didn't have local cheeses. It was ok but expensive so we won't be going back. The views are beautiful though over the harbour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for the review - our prices are in line with those for home cooked food made with quality ingredients like our cheeses. These include local cheeses and international cheeses we have chosen for flavour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    105
    53
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Standard pub fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Gorgeous building in a picturesque location but the food is ordinary and quite expensive. Scampi and chips, pie and chips, two soft drinks and a pint for £35. Wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Sorry to read your review. Our aim is to offer great value, home cooked food and the finest quality lagers and ales - for which we have won awards - wines, soft drinks, teas and coffees. We are not a high street pub chain - you pay for what you get!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Although in a lovely location and having read other reviews, we felt the food was very ordinary and expensive for what we had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
That's a shame. The thing about Tripadvisor is that it is a tiny, tiny percentage of the customers who come and dine with us and enjoy good food and drink with us. That includes locals and visitors alike. We hope you return and enjoy a meal to enjoy with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Were not recommended this place, but we stopped for dinner and with a good selection at average pub costs was impressed. They allow dogs in the bar towards one end so this was a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for the review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great food but book ahead to get a table with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Lovely Inn on the hillside at Seahouses overlooking the harbour and out to sea. There are tables at the front windows but all were reserved when we arrived but we still had a good view from across the room. We ordered lamb and a seafood salad. They took a while to arrive but it does state on the menu that the food is cooked to order and the Inn was quite busy so we didn't mind. Both meals were very tasty. We also ordered a chocolate brownie each which were delicious.The menu wasn't huge but had a good range of meals. The staff were very friendly and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at Bamburgh Castle Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thanks for the review - we do have plenty of tables upstairs in our sea view lounge which have amazing sea view rooms. We don;t tend to take reservations unless for larger groups… But we'll always help when we can ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamburgh Castle Inn also viewed

Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 
Seahouses, Northumberland
Seahouses, Northumberland
 

Been to Bamburgh Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamburgh Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.