We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service, shame about the damp!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndgrove House

Save Saved
You added Wyndgrove House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndgrove House
156 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7UA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service, shame about the damp!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Ok so we went here on a three night deal half price great! Good location and yes it's a 10 min walk to Seahouses which is perfect. We arrived to a warm welcome and parking was good.

The owner I think (she didn't introduce herself) offered us tea which was lovely and what seemed to be home made scones. So the room (1 down stairs) was nicely decorated and modern. There was also a communal lounge which was great for our little one as he is just starting to walk and was therefore not couped up in the room all the time.

The breakfast was superb a great choice and the service was great. They also provided us with a high chair for our son.

however have some gripes....the room was damp as was the bathroom which annoyed me some what and by the time we had got all our gear in, set up the travel cot etc it started to hit us. I didn't want to say anything as the place seemed to be fully booked and didn't want to spoil our little family break. But let's face it people have said the rooms are damp and cold, sorry but room 1 is and the heating seems to go off in the middle of the night so it's freezing! Yes little heaters are provided but this seems really tight. The shower head cord was broken and all the water was spraying out all over the place. The owners will know this as they clean the rooms every day!

Overall we put up with the room as the service and food were so good, however if they were not we would have asked for our money back and left. I cant comment on the other rooms maybe they are fine as we were on the ground floor. I didn't complain as the owners will be fully aware of the condition of the room, simply put if its damp fix it before you expect someone to pay for it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I have thought long and hard before answering this review.
First the shower hose.this has been replaced immediatly,we always keep spares and its a two minute job.We were unaware of the problem as you chose to say nothing about it and we clean our showers with a propriety spay cleaner- we don't use the shower head.
You were asked each morning if everything was alright and if you slept well you chose to say everything was fine and to say nothing about being cold or about any damp.We would have been happy to leave the heating on or to have offered more bedding to keep you cosy.You said nothing about this to us at the time
I have no problem with complaints but it would have been cautious to have given us a chance to put things right instead of telling us that everything was fine and then going home and writing a scathing reveiw.
We are glad that at least you enjoyed your breakfasts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
64
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked a last minute two night break and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Wyndgrove house. The room was lovely with a very comfortable king sized bed, and the power shower was brilliant. The breakfasts were delicious - very well cooked, lots of choice and excellent quality produce used. Good parking and a short walk into the village. Don't hesitate to book a room there if you get a chance. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here last month for 2 nights, as we booked the room for half-price through booking.com. For the £32.50 per room, per night that we paid, it was absolutely fabulous.
If we had been paying full price, then the room could have done with a little TLC, as though it was immaculately clean, there was a little bit of damp on the walls.

However this was far outweighed by the very comfortable bed & little touches like fresh home-made scones and tea on arrival, shortbread on the tea tray in the room and good quality toiletries.
In addition, the owner was very friendly and helpful.

The high point however,was by far the fantastic breakfast, with a great menu featuring eggs benedict, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs, as well as the traditional 'full English'.
All of these featured good quality, locally sourced produce, cooked to absolute perfection.

We would definitely stay at Wyndgrove House again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff excellent choice of breakfast menu and all dishes well presented and delicious. Well presented and decorated room with very comfortable bed.Good parking and access to local area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a mid week break and spent the night at the Wingrove. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Owners are very friendly. The breakfast was fabulous, there was a great choice for vegetarians (which makes a change) food was really well cooked and there was plenty of it. Its a short walk into Seahouses which has a good choice of pubs and restaurants for food, would recommend The Olde Ship for a good evening meal.
Will definately book into the Wingrove again if we stay in the Seahouses area again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for you kind comments we are hoping to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the wyndgrove and were really pleased with it. The four poster room (7) was huge for a guest house room, it had a large plasma TV, a nice clean bathroom with a power shower. and a very comfy bed. We have both traveled all over the UK and the world and I would say the breakfast was one of the best we have had if not the best we have had anywhere. I mentioned this to Kath the owner and she offered to give me some of the Bamburgh sausage to take home, I thought this was a very nice thought. The only negatives I have are very tiny but the main entrence smelt a bit musty when we arrived but this could be down to the damp that people were taking into the reception as the weekend we were there they had been a lot of snow. I also think 10 minutes to the harbour is pushing it a bit, but that could be that we're just not fast walkers? Overall we would deffinately go back here hopefully when the weather is a little warmer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review .Brad and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.We too hope the weather will be better whe n you. Do come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Breakfast was very good, only downside was sat at a table overlooking the rubbish bins outside. Arrived to a mediorce welcome and got shown to our room, as we walked up the stairs i was pointing out the walls to my Husband. There were damp patches every where, when we got in the room it was very cold, and there was no heating in the bathroom at all. We were told there was a blow heater, i should have realised then that the room was not going to be warm. I checked TripAdvisor before i booked, not the room we thought it would be. We were offered another room but why let out a room that you cannot heat properly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put on your reveiw.In the interests of fairness I must point out that you arrived just after lunch when we clearly indicate a check-in time of 4pm so our central heating system which is timed to come on at 3pm had not been on warming up your room.The fan heater was to provide an instant boost to the temperature for just this situation and most guests appreciate this as an extra.
I am sorry you felt the welcome was mediocre as this is something we get a great many positive comments about and we do genuinely try our best to make each and every guest feel welcome and valued.You were offered tea or coffee and something to eat but you declined this offer and I really don't know what more we could do.
We were not made aware of any of your concerns until check out when I indicated that if you were not happy you only had to say and we could have offered an alternative room obviously by then it was too late to do anything about it.
We have had many guests who have been very happy with their stay I would ask any readers of this reveiw to please consider all opinions in fact the previous reveiw indicates they stayed in the very same room as yourself.
I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndgrove House

Address: 156 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northumberland Coast is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Wyndgrove House is an ideal base for a short break or holiday exploring this fascinating region. Perfect for birdwatchers, walkers, cyclists, divers and golfers, or for anyone who simply wants to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wyndgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndgrove House Seahouses, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndgrove House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.