We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndgrove House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wyndgrove House to your Saves list
Wyndgrove House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   156 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7UA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

nice huge room. nice breakfast and so friendly hosts. also good car parking space. (off road) also get a drink as soon as you arrive. nice warm welcome, just a shame the booking.com site has wrong check out time on. but overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review .We are glad you enjoyed your break at Wyndgrove House.Hope to see you both again

Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a short birthday break and wisely chosen Wyndgrove House to stay at. Welcomed at walk in with a pot of tea in the lounge and a nice bottle of Red wine in the bedroom. The bedrooms all seem large and some had 4 poster beds (we were in room 6) huge double bed and really really comfortable, en suite toilet and shower and ample storage space. Room overlooked their back garden and I could see they were big wildlife fans with large bird feeders hanging with lots of wonderful birds recieving a free meal (I love wildlife) but their double glazing cuts out any noise.
Breakfast are fantastic and really set you up for the day, the Bamburgh Sausages are the best I have ever had, and sourced from a local butchers. You are within a 5 minute walk into the centre of Seahouses and about 3 miles from Bamburgh. Recommend evening meals in The Bamburgh Castle Inn and The Links Hotel for food, lots of it, resonable prices and very friendly, both just down the road in Seahouses.
Would we go again?????????? To right we would, already planning a trip to Farne Islands in May. Recomend contacting them direct for bookings rather than going through a 3rd party, such as Late rooms, Last Minute etc. For what they charge I would rather have paid them the full price.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you VERY much for your lovely comments.We are glad you chose our place to celebrate your birthday and look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring.Hope the weather will be just as gorgeous next time!!
all the best for Christmas

Kath and Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Wyndgrove house for one night, while travelling up to view potential wedding venues, we found the room spacious, clean and functional, considering it was £75 which is going rate in most chain hotels, I found this place well worth the money, we got a large room and a nice clean ensuite. I particully liked the fresh milk in the fridge in the hallway, I spend 4 days a week in hotels and in most, all you get is two UHT cartons, which doesn't go far.
We found the owner very nice and helpfull who also suggested a wedding venue that we didnt know of, that we are now going to use!
The cooked breakfast was as good as they come, locally Sourced meats and cooked very well, I will agree with other reviews that there was not much selection cereals wise, but they more than made up for it in offering things like extra bread and hot drinks.
My only Criticisms would be, that the hallway and the front of the entrance area needs modernising.
All in all, well worth the asking price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review.I am really pleased that you liked the suggested wedding venue,we get lots of guests staying with us who are very complimentary about it .
I do agree with you about our entrance porch,we are getting new doors fitted this week which we think will be a big improvement .
Good luck with you wedding preparations and all the best for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent a comfortable night in a large spacious room (great power shower!), but what really made this B & B special were the little extras. Afternoon tea on arrival in the comfortable lounge with buns warm from the oven. Homemade shortbread in our room with ample refreshments and fresh milk available from the fridge nearby and finally great delicious breakfasts; we enjoyed smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and kipper but there were lots of other choices too. We would recommend Wyndgrove House and will certainly use it again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review .Brad and I are pleased you enjoyed the little extra touches .We really enjoy meeting and looking after our guests and it's lovely when our efforts are appreciated .
Thanks also for your praise of Brad's breakfasts we are very proud of them and hope to have even more choice soon with daily specials of local delicacies--- all home made and fresh of course!

We hope you come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We opted to stay in Seahouses because of its location. It's a beautiful little town with a great selection of pubs and restaurants. We chose Wyndgrove House because the rooms were modern and they accepted dogs. The room was big, well-equipped and of a high standard. The breakfast was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and welcoming. However, while my husband had a shower and I dried my hair the fire alarm went off. It was evident that the heat from the hair dryer set it off (this has happened to me before.) Our dog became very distressed and I went to see if the owner required any assistance. She had absolutely no idea how to turn it off. As we checked out the morning after, the owner was rather abrasive and accused us of smoking in the room. We were obviously quite annoyed at this and, unfortunately, it meant that we left with a negative impression. This was such a shame as the B&B was lovely and the breakfast was excellent. The owner needs to address her customer service skills.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hello
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our place lovely.
I had to get the engineer round after you left to investigate the fire alarm going off and he absolutely assured me that it was almost impossible to set off the fire alarm with a hair dryer.Our ceilings are 8'6" in height .A hairdryer producing that amount of heat would be very dangerous indeed .
The sensors are mainly triggered by particles in the air such as smoke or even hair spray they do not respond to heat unless it is very extreme (actual flames) The main danger of fire in a building is smoke and toxic fumes and this is what the system is designed to detect primarily.
I will admit that I was very stressed by the alarm as my husband was out at the time and he usually deals with this .
I did not accuse you of smoking but simply pointed out that we were a totally non smoking establishment.This is clearly stated on the booking form.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Wyndgrove House on our way back home from a visit to Newcastle. We chose the Wyndgrove because of it being dog friendly. It was indeed, we were all 3 of us well catered for. Our visit was brief, but we were blessed with wonderful Northumberland sunshine and of course the beautiful coastline. We were very comfortable for the night in a very spacious ensuite double room. The breakfast was excellent and the hosts very accommodating, we had a wee mishap with the kipper breakfast but this was swiftly rectified. The guest house was a short walk from the town where we found a dog friendly pub for supper. All in all a very lovely stop off point.

Room Tip: Rooms were all of a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath D, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.Brad and I are pleased you enjoyed you visit (you were VERY lucky with the weather)and we hope you and your dog will come back soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Comfortable, clean, convenient and congenial hosts sums up this superb value B&B. We visit Northumberland every Autumn and found Wyndgrove House to be an excellent base for the wider area and near to good pubs and restaurants. All our needs were met including a huge and scrumptious vegetarian breakfast (even vegetarian Eggs Benedict) and the loan of a waterproof coat when we mentioned we had left one at home.

We would definitely return to Wyndgrove House and can confidently recommend it to others who want to visit the area for walking, visiting the sights, diving or just touring and eating.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large,has an great view of the garden and the numerous birds who feed there. The sea can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katycustard, Owner at Wyndgrove House, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review.I apologize for the rain but I am glad to hear it didn't spoil your break.
Thank you as well for your compliments about Brad's breakfast he is happy you enjoyed them and we both look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndgrove House

Address: 156 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndgrove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northumberland Coast is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Wyndgrove House is an ideal base for a short break or holiday exploring this fascinating region. Perfect for birdwatchers, walkers, cyclists, divers and golfers, or for anyone who simply wants to relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndgrove House Seahouses, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndgrove House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.