We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accomodation in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Cuthbert's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St. Cuthbert's House to your Saves list
St. Cuthbert's House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebrate with us!
Ranked #1 of 26 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accomodation in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

From arrival to departure we were treated with friendliness. The accomodation was immaculate, spacious and beautifully appointed. The breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Jeff & Jill, their knowledge of the area meant that they were able to give excellent advice on walks and places to visit. The proximity to Seahouses harbour and amenities made it easy to stroll in the evenings and excellent country roads made visiting towns and villages a little further afield a pleasure. We would definitely recommend to friends and would love to return in spring time to explore the wonderful coastline and countryside further.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
377
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

A friend and I usually take a short city break each spring, to Europe, but due to the volcanic ash cloud problem this year, decided to postpone it until the autumn. Not being able to decide on a holiday destination overseas, we opted for an area of Britain we had not visited before and chose Northumberland, as we both love history and mooching around castles!.

Checking out various hotels and B&B's on the internet, we opted for St Cuthbert's House as it looked unique amongst many run of the mill type hotels. On arrival a warm welcome from Jill and Jeff and a welcoming hot drink, soon reassured us that we had made the right choice of accommodation.

Our room was five star luxury, tastefully furnished, with soft towelling bath robes and slippers provided, comfortable beds and a beautiful en suite bathroom. Breakfast could be taken at a chosen time and this well cooked meal, was enough to keep us going all day.

The weather was pretty grim, but Jeff''s good advice enabled us to visit the best places each day according to whatever the heavens threw at us and we left wishing we had booked for a longer stay. We would certainly recommend this lovely Guest House to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful area of England.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit - despite the poor spell of weather you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

St Cuthbert's House was unlike any guest house we have stayed in before, the conversion of the old chapel has been done in a superb way. Jeff was an excellent host, and you had the feeling that anything you asked would have been accomodated. Our room was lovely, comfortable and roomy, and we really enjoyed the breakfast. All in all it was a fantastic experience to stay here, and we cannot trecommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

St Cuthberts is a wonderful place to stay and offers a relaxing and ideal base for exploring the Northumberland Heritage coast. The house is wonderful. Our en-suite room was comfy, cosy, clean and well-equipped and the galleried lounge/breakfast room is a really atmospheric place to sit and start the day over breakfast. Breakfast is always a feast and will set you up well for the day. Jeff and Jill, our hosts, were welcoming and lovely and had thought of every possible thing that you could possibly need whilst away.

We can't recommend St Cuthberts enough.. Its a hugely worthwhile place to stay at and you will leave feeling revived with ready to go again..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

my husband and I stayed here for an all-too-short 2 night stopover in late September. Very easy directions from the website meant that we found St Cuthberts House with no trouble at all and we were greeted on arrival by Jeff and Jill and invited in to their home which has been beautifully converted from its previous life as a Presbyterian church. Our room was spotless and comfortable with a lovely ensuite shower room- we loved the decor ! Apart from the standard of the accomodation ( and they really do seem to have thought of everything you could possible need in their guest info book ) we really liked the homely feel that this B & B provides, whilst allowing its guests to come and go as they please with complete privacy- although the owners were never far away if required.
10/10 all round, and so close to the fabulous ( and fabulously uncrowded !) Northumberland coastline. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
Thanks for your review. Glad you liked the travel directions too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at St Cuthberts and would highly recomend to stop here.
Jill & Jeff had done all they can to make our stay lovely!
The room we stayed in had wonderful high ceilings, very clean inside and just the right size for a couple. The breakfast was lovely every morning and you could chose something different every day, this will not be the last time i visit Northumberland, i had a wonderful holiday and certainly will not be the last time i visit Jill & Jeff at St Cuthberts. Well worth a stay to see how well they have decorated the inside renovating it from a.church.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed in the Oswald room which is on the ground floor.
* There was some noise from persons walking round in the room above from around 222:00 to 23:00 - insulation should be improved
* No bar soap was supplied, nor available on request, only shower gel, which I don't find a satisfactory means of cleaning myself in the shower. Preferably provide soap automatically but if not have at least have it available on request and indicate this. I raised this with Jeff who advanced an argument againt soap based on waste, but you're just as likely to waste unused shower gel and I can't buy the view that gel in a plastic bottle is "greener" than a small bar of soap wrapped in paper.
* I was a concerned about security in the room. Despite it being quite warm I felt compelled to close and lock the sash window rather than risk someone nipping in through the open window from the carpark and stealing my camera, binoculars or laptop. The window need some means of locking so that it can safely be left open.
We did sleep with the window open but more timid souls may baulk at this.

Other than these issues St Cuthberts fine if a little expensive

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCuthbertsHouse, Owner at St. Cuthbert's House, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
We're sorry that the toiletries were not to your liking. We have worked hard to achieve a Gold Award from the Green Tourism scheme, and sourcing eco-friendly yet luxurious toileries has been something of a mission for us - this is something I remember us talking about together during your stay. We would happily have supplied you with a bar of soap, had we realised this was an issue for you, and we're sorry we didn't.
We accepted your comments about the windows on the ground floor, which you made in conversation during your stay, and as a result have now fitted security devices to the wooden sash windows which allow the window to be secured when opened slightly for ventilation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Cuthbert's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Cuthbert's House

Address: 192 Main St. | North Sunderland, Seahouses NE68 7UB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Cuthbert's House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of VisitEngland 'Guest Accommodation of the Year 2014' - England's Best B&B! Come and see why! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your St. Cuthbert's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Cuthbert`s House Hotel Seahouses
St. Cuthbert's House Seahouses, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Cuthbert's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.