We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Butterchurn Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otterburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterchurn Guest House
Save
You added Butterchurn Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street, Otterburn NE19 1NP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Otterburn B&B and Inns
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not so friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Churnside with our dog while attending a wedding in August. The web site stated that they now served afternoon tea upon arrival. We were informed that the owner was away and they didn't know anything about tea. Later we did meet the owner, who said there was a charge for the tea and you had to book ahead for it. That was not stated on the web site.
However, the room was clean and did have all the necessary requirements, if a bit basic. But the TV didn't work and when we sat in the 'lounge' to try and watch the news from there, the owner seemed quite put out about it. Her general attitude seemed to be that we were a bit of an imposition in staying there at all. Not the reception you expect to receive at a 'friendly' B & B.
The following morning we reported for breakfast (only served between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 a.m.) This turned out to be one of the meanest 'full English' I have ever seen. I'm not say if it said 'mushroom' or 'mushrooms' but whichever it must have been a miniscule button one. Since I didn't have tomato and baked beans a little extra here wouldn't have gone amiss.
We won't be going back there in a hurry, or recommending it to friends, which is a shame since the location is excellent, despite the limited parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Me and my fiance stayed at thw Guest House in June for a friends wedding at Otterburn Tower. Its ideally situated in the village, only a short 5 min walk to the Tower (even less to the pub!). It was lovely and clean! The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was also lovely! The only negative thing i would say is it is a bit dated and could do with a revamp. Overall though i would stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Delightful 4 nights spent here while 2 of the party walked the Pennine Way. The weather was exceedingly cold and wet for May but Val was so helpful with drying facilities and lovely warm rooms to cheer us up at the end of the day. Time spent in the very comfortable , warm guest lounge was a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed on our way up to Edinburgh as it was a bit ambitious to drive all the way on a Friday evening! This B & B was a great place to stop off for an evening! The owners were very accommodating when I called ahead to say we were going to be later than 9:00 p.m. It was no issue at all that we were going to be late and they were courteous enough to tell us that food would no longer be served in the local pubs when we arrived and suggested places to stop before hand. The room was full of character, clean and a good size! Although we left early the next morning, we did enjoy a lovely breakfast but did not have the time to check out the beautiful back garden! Highly recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had a fab stay at the Butterchurn recently despite some dramas that affected the whole village!

Were there fro a friends wedding and the whole village lost power for 12 hours. Val was fantastic throughout as I called her through the day for updates, she provided hot water bottles for my Mum and I and was so warm and chatty throughout our whole stay.

Rooms very clean, nicely appointed, beds perfect and crisp clean warm bedding, none of that blanket rubbish you get proper quilts here!

Breakfast when you please, good selection of buffet and the cooked breakfast to die for!!! Lovel room to eat in too with nice views.

Didnt feel rushed at all it was a lovely trip and again Val was thoughtful and kind throughout.

Prices excellent and would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms on ground floor and a residents lounge too - ideal for guests in wheelchairs or with mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed only 2 x nights as were attending a friends wedding around the corner in the Manor House. Our greeting by the manager (sorry I've forgotton her name) was wonderfully warm. Our room was lovely and cozy, clean and fresh. The views were of the gardens to the rear. We received excellent service throughout our stay, and would recommend the Butterchurn Guest House to anyone. My only comment would be to have better sausages in the cooked breakfast. Otherwise excellent!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here in a twin room for a couple of nights in mid October 2011 and found the 4 Star Guest House easy to locate, comfortable and well appointed. The room was clean and tidy with ensuite, hot drinks facilities and a TV. The breakfasts were very good, consisting of a self-selection of cereals, fruit juice etc followed by a comprehensive 'Full English' and lashing of tea/coffee. The owner and staff were welcoming, efficient and helpful.

We couldn't find anything to criticise here, if we're really picky we'd point a finger at the distinctly poor analogue TV reception but that certainly wasn't a serious problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterchurn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterchurn Guest House

Address: Main Street, Otterburn NE19 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Otterburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Butterchurn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterchurn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.