We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Sitings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Border Forest Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otterburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Border Forest Holiday Park
Cottonshopeburnfoot, Otterburn NE19 1TF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Summer Sitings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have held a summer siting for our caravan for nine years and never cease to marvel at the wild life surroundingus. This year for the first time our feeding station has been visited by a family of Jays and a couple of Kingfishers have perched on branches 25yds upstream. We are now waiting for the Otters to show themselves again. Many other bird species have thrived after a very late breeding season and if you take all this for granted there is always the resident animals to survey.
Of course the site and its facilities have improved considerably in the years we have been coming due to the enthusiasm and attention to detail of the owners.
If you are looking for a summer base for your walking or visits to the numerous attractions of the area then look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertieboo01, Owner at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and here's to the next 9 years and even more wildlife!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed in Gowshak, Osprey and Heron Lodge.... does that just not say something in itself, the fact I have been 3 times !! All lodges spotless, peaceful location, very friendly owners / staff / animals. I just returned on Wednesday after celebrating a special birthday there with my friends, enjoyed it so much we booked an extra 2 nights. My friends were so pleased with the whole set up that we are looking to return all together again in November.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertieboo01, Bertieboo at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Maxine, so glad you and your friends had fun and fantastic weather to help celebrate your special day. See you soon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

just arrived home kicking and screaming from our time at border forest holiday park, we stayed in our trusty tourer and enjoyed every second from long walks to talking to the cows, chickens etc, we hit lucky with the weather although dare i say too hot, so the midges were out caravanning and camping aswell however did not spoil our getaway at all, we had a wonderful time, no groups or loud behaviour just peace and quiet, owners were lovely and will be definetly returning now that we have found our perfect retreat, oh and a nice shoutout to the grass cutter who enjoys his job and makes sure he gets every strand of grass, keep up the good work the grounds were lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine B, Owner at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and yes we have all been very,very lucky with the weather. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at border forest for my birthday with my partner and our dog.
Loved goshawk lodge. Couple who ran the park were very friendly.
Excellent area to walk our collie, enjoyed beautiful long walks and got to see fantastic wildlife and deer!
Also was pleased to see the 3 little piggies every morning opposite our lodge grazing and not forgetting the chickens.
This made our visit even better.
Was amazed at how modern The lodge was with iPod dock and the outdoor hot tub was fabulous and hot when we arrived. Also the fact there was little touches like dishcloths, bin bags and washing up liquid, salt, tea bags and milk to name a few!! Often it's the little things we forget to pack. Best lodge we've stayed at overall!
Would recommend and most certainly will be back.

3 very happy guests.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertieboo01, Owner at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you had a very happy birthday! The piggies love making new friends and we hope to see all 'three' of you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

On arrival a warm friendly welcome and a great tour of our lodge, The lodge was very tastefull with all amenities anyone would need! not forgetting the HOT TUB! very relaxing with a lovely stream running along side the veranda. Loved the friendly hungry pigs whom were the cutest pets we have ever seen!! and the chickens running around the park, giving great character! I felt I had stayed longer than a weekend and certainly very de-stressed! VERY RELAXING, EXCELLENT LOCATION already re-booked thank- you cannot wait to return x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertieboo01, Owner at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review of Heron lodge at Border Forest. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Bubble ,Squeak and Rita miss your treats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently stayed at Border Forest Park , we booked into the Osprey Lodge. When we arrived the owners were wonderful , we were shown around our lodge and had everything explained regarding the hot tub and facility's. We were very impressed to find we had dvd's , family games even found a freshly washed dog blanket which our German Shepherd was chuffed with . When we booked this lodge we were a little concerned how remote it might be , considering we have a 11 year old to entertain but he wasn't once bored. We done the forest walks which were great , the pigs and chickens were quite entertaining and then we had our hot tub to top it all off.
We all can't wait to visit again , excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertieboo01, Owner at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello,
thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you had a happy stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

booked 2 lodges, a 4 & 6. lodges were well equipped, everything you need, just add the food & drink. Hot tubs in both lodges, fantastic. Lodges very warm & shower with plenty hot water. The only thing missing was a pizza wheel, but managed to live without this. We will definitely visit again, and would recommend as a adult get together. They are also pet friendly, so the family dogs came to. The owners were very welcoming & friendly. As were the 3 pigs & chickens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertieboo01, Owner at Border Forest Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. A pizza wheel has now been added to the kitchens of all our Lodges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Border Forest Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Forest Holiday Park

Address: Cottonshopeburnfoot, Otterburn NE19 1TF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Otterburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Otterburn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 out of 10 dogs prefer to bring their owners to Border Forest Holiday Park.We are situated on the Pennine Way with direct access onto the mighty Kielder Forest. There are miles and miles of walks and cycle tracks and fantastic opportunities to see wildlife in its natural habitat. You do not have to have a four legged friend to enjoy the peace and tranquility here. The park has 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom Lodges with hot tubs, two 'Bijou' type cottages each sleeping 2 and at the lower end of our park, Electric hookups and hard standings for tourers and motor homes. There is a campers kitchen and toilets and the showers blocks at the top of the park are included in our tariffs.Please note we are a Quiet family run park with no Bar,Restaurant or shop. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Border Forest Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Border Forest Holiday Park to your Saves list