We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shambles

Shambles
59 Bridge Street, Morpeth NE61 1PQ, England
01670 516688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 81 restaurants in Morpeth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Northumberland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Visited Shambles on Sunday for dinner.. Staff were attentive and we ordered/received our food very quickly.. we ordered the pork and lamb and the waiter did tell me they serve the lamb pink which was great for me! (very nice for them to tell me though). We also received a free basket of bread before our mains came which was a nice surprise also!

Food came and was delicious, just enough to fill me us up nicely! Asked if we wanted to see the dessert menu which we did, but unfortunately had to wait a good 15 mins for this until we reminded the waiter. Desserts ordered and received promptly!

After lunch we went downstairs for a few more drinks before we left.. the atmosphere is great here and I will be going back to try the main menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    46
    34
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

A great little place. We visited on the recommendation of a local taxi driver (we were up from London for a wedding the next day). Very busy atmosphere, small bar but excellent service. Must try the amazingly good value cocktails - only £3 during happy hour. Good food too (we only tried bar food as the restaurant was full). Highly recommended :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food in a cosy atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Me and my partner went here for Sunday dinner and were pleasantly surprised. About £9 a meal we had the lamb and pork and it was delicious. Well cooked and just enough on the plate to leave us full. Also got a complementary basket of bread which was nice.
We then asked to see the desert menu and we waited and waited until we eventually had to ask again for the menu. Seems he had forgotten! Not the best service but forgivable! When we did eventually order our desserts we both got the white chocolate parfait which was presented really nicely and tasted lovely.
Overall a great meal and a great visit. 2 meals 2 deserts and 2 drinks for £30. Not bad. Will be back to try the normal menu during the week!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second visit as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Managed to get a table for four on Friday evening. Food + service excellent. Good value - will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food quality at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner last night at Shambles. Warm welcome with friendly staff & good desert recommendations. Steak cooked perfectly & tasted amazing. We visit more expensive restaurants in Newcastle but the food here was of superb standard yet lower cost. Excellent value. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambles also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Shambles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.