We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a candle.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shambles

Shambles
59 Bridge Street, Morpeth NE61 1PQ, England
+44 1670 516688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 85 Restaurants in Morpeth
Price range: $8 - $78
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Take a candle.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good place to hide from the Press Gang as it is so dark in there, you do not need to hide. Art gallery my eye ! A dozen old paintings from a junk shop. This matters not though as the food and drink are bang on. Bar food and beer. Quick and tasty. No messing. No cheap ingredients and well served. Satisfied Mr Pasta and Mrs Sweetcorn........

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I went in here for a couple of beers on a random Monday and was happy to find the prices are actually lowered on a Monday evening!

It was not full but a lot more people in there than you usually expect in a pub Archie's time of the week, especially in Morpeth haha!

The decor was great the staff were pleasant and it was super clean as you would expect around here!

Nice atmosphere too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oozes talent, style and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have long been a fan of the current chef of Shambles. I think his name is Graeme Toms, apologies if the spelling is out there. He was formerly the chef at The Boyson Restaurant at Longhirst Hall and was responsible in recent years for perhaps the most enjoyable meals I have ever eaten. I understand he has recently joined Shambles. His mark was unmistakable on the food we had there last week. He combines fresh and often locally sourced ingredients with such flair and dash you would be forgiven for thinking you were in for a wallop when the bill arrives. But look at the prices and you simply can't believe your luck. I had a deep fried goats cheese starter, fluffy and light with delicious fine beans coated in a shallot and hazelnut dressing. Simple in conception, elegant in execution and gorgeous to eat. My main was a braised daube of beef on horseradish mash. Textures to die for, rich flavours, so heartily enjoyable to the last. I wish I could summon greater food knowledge to do justice to how good the cookery is here, it seriously is the best dining experience I know of in this locality. My dad had chicken breast, crisped with the skin left on. The chef is faithful to the best flavours inherent in the particular choice of meat, he knows how to reveal these flavours and textures with his patience and ability. His meals are balanced, thoughtful, taste driven. But I digress. Pudding was a mocha mousse, again so simple but thoroughly decadent. The room itself is mood enhancingly low lit with dark wood and a choice of tables with a lovely view over Morpeth Telford Bridge. It combines to add to the sense of elegance and talent in such abundance with the food. We are lucky in Morpeth for eating places, there is quality and atmosphere to be soaked up in so many establishments. But here is my current pick of the crop. So long as this chef stays here I will be coming back. It is worth travelling miles to come and experience but it happens to be on my doorstep. Happy days!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food was lovely, the staff were helpful and it has a very elegant atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You forget there's a pub downstairs, that's for sure! The restaurant is dimly lit, so you feel very relaxed and the food is delicious and very reasonable.
Worth going to. They have a lovely set menu and the wine is perfect!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Place to be in Morpeth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I really enjoyed the atmosphere in shambles when i visited for Sunday lunch. The food was excellent and so was the pudding. I would definitely return to this place. 5/5

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambles also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Shambles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.