We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to be in Morpeth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shambles

Shambles
59 Bridge Street, Morpeth NE61 1PQ, England
+44 1670 516688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 85 Restaurants in Morpeth
Price range: $8 - $78
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Place to be in Morpeth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I really enjoyed the atmosphere in shambles when i visited for Sunday lunch. The food was excellent and so was the pudding. I would definitely return to this place. 5/5

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Family get together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to Shambles on Saturday first time There was 9 adults and a 9mth old child. We had a lovely meal upstairs over looking the bridge coming into Morpeth. The service was excellent and the food was more than pub grub but at very reasonable prices. We also got 10% of our bill. I had leg of duck on crushed potatoes with braised cabbage and hosin sauce it was so tasty and fresh salmon fish cakes for starter my husband had carrot and orange soup and then smoked haddock with poached egg on fondant potatoes with season veg Two of our party were veggies but they accomadated them with food that they enjoyed.It was very relaxed and had a lovely day in Morpeth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great addition to Morpeth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good atmosphere, smart decor, good service - something a bit different in Morpeth. The bar downstairs always seems busy. There is a good choice of food and the portions are very generous. The steak was great accompanied by a good saucxe and proper handcut chips. All reasonably priced. Will definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Abolutely brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been today for Mother's Day lunch and it was perfect!! The food was excellent - best I have had in a long time and the service was amazing!! Brilliant food and staff!! Will be recommending to everyone!! Fab!! Xx

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal pity about the TVs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Was recommended to this restaurant and booked for a celebration meal so dissapointed when first walked in to see football blasting out on TVs. Felt better when told there was a bar upstairs for the restaurant then walked into lovely little bar upstairs with nice settees and candles and couldn't beleive it .... FOOTBALL ON A TV!!
Once we were shown through to our table - What a lovely furnished restaurant and the food was excellent.

Why spoil a lovely restaurant by having a TV on the wall that no one was watching and if anyone did want to see a TV could always go downstairs to the ground floor bar.

Would highly recommend this restaurant but don't bother with pre meal drinks go straight into table in restaurant which was lovely

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambles also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Shambles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.