We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, in a lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nadon Thai Restaurant, Morpeth

Nadon Thai Restaurant, Morpeth
12A Newgate Street, Morpeth NE61 1BA, England
01670 458151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Morpeth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food, in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were visiting the area and as we don't have any Thai restaurants where we live, we like to eat Thai whenever we get the opportunity. Nadon Thai was lovely and lived up to our expectations. The servers were polite and friendly and the restaurant was nicely decorated.The food was exquisite and they deserve to be number 1 restaurant in the Morpeth area. I would definitely come here again if I was ever in the area again. Our only problem was locating in it in the first place. As we are not local and usually chose our restaurants by looking on trip advisor, it is really helpful to have a picture of the outside to give us some idea where we are looking. As Nadon Thai is upstairs and doesn't really have a 'shop front', I can understand why there is a picture of the inside, but a visual guide is always helpful - please!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    78
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“works night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

first time ever had thai food went on recommendation very pleased we did.We were a party of8 we had booked a table for the happy hour 9.50 for 2 courses which were well worth it all of us enjoyed the food and even more the desserts will definately return

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We really liked the ambience of this place, but then we love all things Thai. The choice of beers is good, the location is good if you don't mind stairs, and the staff are very friendly but we were disappointed with the food. It was nice enough but then Thai is usually amazing not just nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely food just a shame about the noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staying at a holiday cottage in Morpeth and did not want to be cooking after a three hour journey so booked the Nadon Thai online before leaving home. Good menu and excellent food but they could have been more accommodating with regard to our request to move to a vacant table in a quieter part of the restaurant.

We like to take our time over a meal and finish with desserts and coffee. Unfortunately due to a party of eight men who were old enough to know better and be considerate to other diners, the evening was spoilt by their very loud talking, that at times was deafening. Made worse by the fact they all seemed to talk at once!

I asked if we could move but was told it was not possible despite there being a vacant table for two. A table that remained unoccupied throughout our spoilt meal. We couldn't get out of the place fast enough, so ate up, asked for the bill and left. Shame because it is a lovely little restaurant and had the staff been more obliging we would have enjoyed our visit much more than we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant 1st ever thai experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on Saturday and it was my 1st ever thai dining experience. We were not disappointed at all. The staff were friendly, drinks and food prices were reasonable and good quality. I don't normally have a desert but the ice creams were so tempting so I had a couple of scoops. Really tasty. Will definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nadon Thai Restaurant, Morpeth also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Nadon Thai Restaurant, Morpeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nadon Thai Restaurant, Morpeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.