We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shieldhall

Shieldhall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morpeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shieldhall
Save
You added Shieldhall to your Saves list
Wallington, Morpeth NE61 4AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This country B&B was quite special. The owners had thought of everything. The rooms had fresh flowers and fresh ground coffee and a cafetier, a jar of biscuits, Portmeirion china, crystal glasses, a sewing kit in a box, a range of CDs to listen to, an umbrella to use to go over to the main house for breakfast. The bed in the Mahogany room was very comfortable with a feather duvet and crisp white sheets. The bedrooms were in the outhouses (maybe stable blocks in the past) and looked onto a lovely courtyard. The bathroom was large and fully equipped including a basket of magazines. Breakfast was delicious with homemade compot of fruits to go with the cereals followed by 'full English' with their own eggs. £96 for a double room and I understand the price goes down for multiple nights stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved our stay at Shieldhall. We were greeted by John as soon as we arrived in the driveway and shown around the property, where we met Sarah. A lovely couple.
We stayed for three nights in the Elm and Mahogany rooms and both were beautiful. Elm is a twin bedroom with plenty of space, with a large ensuite shower room. Mahogany is a spacious double room with a huge bathroom. Both were extremely comfortable. All rooms have their own entrances.
The family are very accommodating and didn't mind that we returned midday to get ready for a wedding. Northing was too much trouble for them. They gave plenty of advise about places to visit and are very knowledgeable about the area.
The B&B is in an ideal area to explore Northumberland and is just down the road from Kirkharle, where the family have their own workshop. They make beautiful woodwork, much of which is on display around Shieldhall.
We will return in the future. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, breaking our journey from Perthshire to Yorkshire. We've never returned to anywhere we've stayed, no matter how much we've enjoyed them but we expect to make an exception here. From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by Sarah we felt at home. Four-poster bed in the oak room was stunning and very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and spotless and so many little touches - everything thought of. Breakfasts were superb as were the evening meals. Our only complaint was that we had not booked to stay longer! Visited Wallington Hall and Kirkharle Craft Centre whilst in the area but ran out of time and didn't get to Cragside which we had hoped to do so we know where we'll be staying to go back and explore more next time - perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Shieldhall and really were sad to leave as it was pure bliss. We loved the spacious bathroom and the Elm bedroom was very comfortable. The family who runs it is simply wonderful as they share their time with you talking about the region and Stephen about his passion of furniture restoration. Breakfast is nice and the food is excellent. We hope to come again one day as Northumberland is a beautiful unspoilt area.

Room Tip: Loved the Elm room but they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We rarely return to B&Bs, however good they are, but this could well prove an exception. We got it from “Special Places to Stay” and it really is special. Best of all are the relaxed atmosphere and warmth of welcome from Sarah and husband John, who chatted to us in the library before the candlelit dinners we had in the dining room. These were at a fine table made by Sarah’s father, a professional furniture maker who has a workshop on site and showroom at nearby Kirkharle Courtyard, and made much of Shieldhall’s furniture. Sarah is a great cook and regarded our dietary needs as an excuse to try new recipes: both were delicious. We also liked having a ground floor bedroom opening onto the attractive courtyard, and altogether it made a delightful base for walking in the peaceful surrounding countryside and visiting Wallington House. (It's current Tripadvisor ranking at No.156 of Northumberland's B&Bs and Inns just goes to show that you can miss real treats if you only look at the top-ranked places - and probably that the system needs revision!)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time here. The family were welcoming, Sarah's breakfast was fantastic and the rooms were excellent with very comfortable beds and great bathrooms. It's a beautiful setting as well. I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane/Norwich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Finally got to stay at Shieldhall -i'd discovered it online months ago but then my plans changed.

We were in the mahogany room - beautifully crafted bed, large bathroom with bath (shower over) and a chair, bathrobes, more towels than one could ever need. Special touches like homemade biscuits with the tea and coffee tray.

Pre-dinner drinks in the library - with secret bar!! was a nice opportunity to meet other guests and find out about the area. We'd booked at very short notice so the dinner menu was already set, Soup, Duck and creme brulee. Dinner was fantastic, all homemade and very tasty. One of the other guests was vegetarian and it seemed no bother to make them something different. After dinner there was tea and coffee and a lovely cheese board for those who had space back in the library.

Breakfast on sunday was fantastic - wonderful home-stewed fruits with yoghurt and cereal, homemade bread for toast and a tasty cooked breakfast. We slept in very late, but this didn't seem any trouble.

Overall was very impressed by Shieldhall, and even more so on my return home - i'd left something behind in the room and they were quick and helpful in sending it on to me.

Many thanks. I'll certainly recommend you.

Room Tip: Mahogany room has a lovely big bathroom and comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shieldhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhall

Address: Wallington, Morpeth NE61 4AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation in recently converted 18thC. farm steading with handcrafted furnishings, original art & antique detail everywhere.Deliciously Aga cooked meals from local & seasonal produce.Fine Wines & Secret BarCentral for the Roman Wall, the Cheviots, Keilder and the coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shieldhall Morpeth, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shieldhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.