We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely rural retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistleyhaugh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longhorsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistleyhaugh
Save
You added Thistleyhaugh to your Saves list
Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Longhorsley B&B and Inns
Midlands, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really lovely rural retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay on this Northumberland farm on Sun 21st July. We had a longer touring day than expected so arrived at about 7pm. We hadn't booked an evening meal but were absolutely delighted when our very kind, welcoming and thoughtful hostess offered for us to join another couple who had booked their meal earlier. It was especially welcome as this accommodation is in a quiet rural location so, heading out to find an evening meal would have felt like quite a trek at that stage after a busy tiring day. We really enjoyed the sherry beforehand, the meal itself and especially the lemon posset dessert, a new one for us. We would have happily spent longer in this lovely home. The decor and ambience was excellent. We left a shirt hanging in the wardrobe which was duly forwarded to our home address, many thanks to our hosts. We wish them and their business continued success.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for only one night but it was one of the most memorable experiences of our three week holiday. This lovely working farm is located deep in the heart of the countryside and while it was a bit of a challenge to find, the instructions from our hosts were clear. From the time of our arrival until we departed the following day we were made to feel very welcome by Zoe our host. She was always cheerful and obliging and had a great sense of humour. Our room was lovely as were the house and the gardens. Beautiful baskets of hanging flowers were arranged around the barn areas which provided further indication of the care and attention devoted to this lovely place. We stayed for an evening meal which was a sumptuous affair. All that we ate was the product of the farm itself. The same can be said of the substantial breakfast provided on the morning that we left which kept us going until we arrived in Edinburgh that evening. I wish we had been able to stay longer and we will most definitely return. Thistleyhaugh is truly an oasis of peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: We had the Hardy Room which had both a bath and a shower, was very quiet and beautifully appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed the one night but quite simply this is a gem of a place. The location is beautiful (if a bit tricky to find), from the second we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome. The rooms are very comfortable and full of tasteful antiques and art but not over done. There are lots of great little home comforts (homemade shortbread etc) that you just don't get in big hotels. The cooked breakfast was sublime. Bacon and sausage were the best I have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble.

Overall we had a lovely stay, the family should be very proud of the standards and service they provide.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights Enid &Zoe Nelless made us very welcome indeed, everybody on the farm is friendly and helpful. Our room was perfect, nothing was too much trouble, the large shower was very good and the bath was a delight. On the second day we had appalling weather and none of us were able to leave due to the flooding. But Enid and Zoe made scones for lunch and a gorgeous fruit cake, we just sat and chatted with the other guests which passed the day very well as they were all such good company. Dinner each evening was a delight, beautiful starters perfectly executed, followed by very generous helpings of Salmon, Lamb, Chicken, Steak Pie (on different evenings). The puddings were to die for each better than the last, coffee was first class. The breakfasts were superb great local sausages free range eggs, home cured bacon, toast from home made bread, homemade Lemon Curd, homemade Marmalade. Conclusion the best ever b&b.

Room Tip: All great rooms good views quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was our second visit to Thistleyhaugh and it was as good as the first. The accommodation is excellent and you have the choice of two sitting rooms.

We had an evening meal on two evenings and met some lovely people who were also staying there.

The location is good because you can easily get to Cragside, NT property, Rothbury and Alnwick. This time we visited the border country ie Jedburgh, Mulrose and Kelso. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

A three night stay at this working farm is both relaxing and intriguing. Relaxation through the great comfort it provides and its beautiful location. Intrigue through the small window on another way of life unknown to city dwellers. A way of life which makes the best of modern conveniences and technology combined with the traditions of many generations of farming folk. You will sleep well, eat well and enjoy the friendly kindness provided by your hostess.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had a wonderfully relaxing couple of nights at Thistleyhaugh in late February. Simply finding it was good fun, as we arrived later than planned, and driving deeper and deeper into the countryside in the dark was an adventure in itself! Fortunately, Enid's directions were immaculate, and we soon pulled up to the impressive Thistleyhaugh. Our first impression was just how fantastic (and rare) it is to hear complete silence these days - and our second was how lovely it is to have silence broken by someone as warm and welcoming as Enid. She immediately showed us into her home, took us to our beautiful, cosy room, and then sat us down to a delicious, varied and more than satisfying meal.

Thistleyhaugh is perfectly located for trips to the stunning Northumberland coast, and also for journeys south to Hadrian's Wall. But you don't need to travel that far for beautiful countryside walks - they literally surround Thistleyhaugh. And the food - whether the hearty breakfasts or Zoe's superb evening meals - is one of Thistleyhaugh's greatest attractions, and the perfect start and end to the day. We're very much hoping to return...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistleyhaugh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistleyhaugh

Address: Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longhorsley
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Thistleyhaugh Longhorsley, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistleyhaugh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.