We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool comfort in the country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Cool comfort in the country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for a night as part of a large wedding party. It is an attractive, comfortable and quite luxurious venue which we enjoyed very much. The food at the wedding and the breakfasts were excellent. It was a very cold weekend when were were there and parts of the hotel, including (unfortunately) the function room, were not warm. Other guests also complained of being cold in their rooms but we did not experience this. Our room was worm and well-appointed with a nice outlook. The grounds and gold course looked delightful. Overall, except in exceptionally cold weather, I think it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    227
    163
    72
    51
See reviews for
140
431
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Spa staff could not have been more helpful. The lady I spoke to on the phone made it possible for my daughter and I to experience their Spa treatment + afternoon tea package at very short notice. The back massages were very good. And our afternoon tea in front of the log fire on a cold afternoon was very pleasant. I'd have preferred to see mini tarts and cheesecakes instead of ones cut in half. But all the food was delicious. I'd recommend Linden Hall to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

On the whole we really enjoyed staying in this attractive hotel but having to wear our fleeces at breakfast was not anticipated. Initially the bedroom also felt cold but we adjusted the radiator and were soon warm. Given the exceptionally cold weather it would have been sensible to have the rooms warm for arrivals.The breakfasts were excellent with plenty to eat from the buffet area and hot breakfasts cooked to order.
There was a problem with our t.v which was frustrating as there was a drama we wanted to see.
The package included a bottle of wine which we did have to ask for twice.
We really enjoyed the comfortable bar and lounge areas and appreciated the log fire each night.
With only 45 rooms the hotel has the advantage of being smaller and friendlier than most spa/golf hotels,
Other than the pool area facilities we didn't use the spa but heard very good reports from fellow guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

After a five hour drive, was really looking forward to a relaxing weekend, however it was not to be! Room not ready on arrival, staff have no knowledge of local area, spa is dreadful with a cramped lukewarm sauna and a tiny pool. Room is dated and cold but the icing on the cake was dinner at the pub. Arrived early for our prebooked table but never got to go in to the restaurant because they gave our table away. Agreed to eat in the bar, which was cold and soulless, but we were entertained for the hour and a half that it took to serve us a burger and a steak by the number of people leaving with the right hump and empty stomachs because they had given up all hope of getting any dinner! One word of advice - avoid!!!! And cancel any membership u may have with secret escapes.com, this is one secret you don't want to be party to!!!

Room Tip: Anywhere other than here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although the hotel is handy for Newcastle you really could be in the middle of nowhere especially after travelling up the long drive to the hotel.
Don't expect hi-tech modern furnishings and facilities, this is an old fashioned country house style of hotel.
Although clean and comfortable our room certainly needed a freshen up, everything was in full working order though. The public areas have a dated quaintness about them, particularly the inner staircase surrounding the open fire.
Breakfast and dinner in the Dobson restaurant were both excellent, well cooked and very tasty food and a quite reasonable wine list. Between us we had the duck and the pork, both fantastic.
Unfortunately the food in the Linden Tree pub was what it was, pub grub with more than a nod to the 80's, its a while since I've come across scampi and chips on a menu - it was quiet good though, the fish cakes on the other hand were lukewarm and lacking in any taste.
The grounds are nice to walk off breakfast and the pool, though small, is good and not at all cold. Unlike a previous reviewer we found that the steam room was working fine and did its job.
Room for improvement? Definitely but rather than go down the corporate route with all the modern bells and whistles it may be better to build on its country house heritage.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms first and aviod the second floor rooms with sloping ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I visited the venue for a conference, and was very disappointed: Staff were inattentive, and did not seem to be interested in "selling" the name and surrounding to the visitors. The drive to the main building is long, and you anticipate something special when you arrive at the main building, but unfortunately it is not. The conferencing suites are very dated and in need of an upgrade/refurbishment. This is not a place I would go back to, and the owners will miss a lot of business for the reasons mentioned above, hence the two stars out of five. I wish them wisdom and luck.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Dobson restaurant is definitely worth going to and spa packages are just amazing!! We went for a mid-week spa break - treatments were fantastic!

Breakfast although busy was really very lovely and rooms were very comfortable but perhaps a little dated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.