We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience, food, service & setting great! Spa not so good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A lovely experience, food, service & setting great! Spa not so good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A lovely hotel with a very friendly and polite staff who are all willing and helpful. The Dobson Restaurant offers value for money, EXCELLENT service and beautiful food. Rooms are simple, clean and relaxing, en-suites need some investment but are acceptable. Lovely grounds for walking and exploring. Spa is absolutely exhausted and like a time-warp back to the 1970's! That was a real let-down but due to staff welcome, quality of restaurant and overall lovely experience it didn't really matter. It would have done if we were staying more than one night though. Spa needs investment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    278
    199
    92
    56
See reviews for
163
531
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and stayed here for our 40th birthday. It was supposed to be special. Hotel is lovely and the walks are beautiful, but that is where it finishes. I know it is an old building but this hotel is very over priced for what you get. The rooms need updating and the pool and spa need a revamp. Would only stay here again if the price was reduced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We would like to take the time to thank the staff for the delightful evening of Wed 7th November spent at the Linden Hall Hotel. We held a conference for our clients in Cramlington and arranged for them to stay the night at this hotel.
The consensus of opinion from all who attended the hotel last night was very positive, from the staff who were very attentive and helpful, to the meal which was delicious, to the rooms to everyones satisfaction.
I had the lamb and found it very tender and full of flavour – my compliments to the chef.
The people on my table only had good comments, the sticky toffee pudding went down very well indeed!
Can you please thank everyone on our behalf for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winteringham
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Looking at some of the mixed reviews we were a little apprehensive but our stay at Linden Hall was without fault, the hotel is a grand old building with lots of redeeming features and has great walks and a good quality golf course attached. We ate in the Linden tree pub which is 2 minute walk from the main building which offered a good choice of sensibly priced tasty food.
The rooms were very clean with ours looking out over the adjoining golf course, excellent breakfast served with a good choice and piping hot. My only complaint was that the car park and route to the Linden tree pub are poorly lit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Linden Hall was a let down. We booked last minute for 1 night for a relaxing break, although the hotel and resturant was good, the rooms were very small and we had no hot water as the heating and water had' tripped off'. I called to complain and was told the manager was looking into it and the water would be back on in 15minutes...i managed to have a hot bath as promised. Before i arrived at the hotel i tryed to ring to book a massage, however there was no answer at the spa so i rang through to reception to ask why? she replied i don't know why this had happened and will go straight down and get someone to call me, which they did. I asked if i could use the facilities before i go for massage and he replied that will be fine to do that and will provide me with a robe before i have a massage which is what i have experienced before in other hotels with a spa.I did not get a robe as promised, is this too much to ask if your paying £56 for a massage? I asked for a robe to be told 'oh you don't get one if your having a massage, its only if your here for a spa day,and anyway we haven't got any left'.She did go and ask the manager if i could have one, i manged to get one after my massage, however it was scuffy and felt deflated after this bad experience. To my horror when i went throught to the pool area there was plastic cups, some empty and some half full of rose' wine left all around pool area. Bearing in mind it had on the door 'strictly no food or drink around pool area' There were towels left all over chairs and the jaccuzzi was full of sand at the bottom from what looked like a hen doo spa day as there was balloons around the pool too. The pool attendant came through several times and did not tidy up after them. it was simply awful. Don't go to the spa if you want to go to this hotel...the changing room was no better, it had empty bottles of wine left aswell as the towels and robes were just chucked anywhere from the hen do. I returned 2 hrs later after my massage and the place was exactly the same as it was and nobody had attempted to clean up.There was a light flashing in corridor which was very irritating. This is meant to be a 4 star hotel!!!!!!! more like a 2 star. I was very disappointed with the spa to say the least! The staff in reception and resturant were excellent, such a shame the spa was a disappointment. i would not return to this hotel as there are better hotels around that area like Matfen hall, this is far more superior and the spa is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself in general is very good and situated in an ideal setting with lovely surroundings. Think it relies heavily on its weddings and golf course. The room was over 150 pun a night and I was very disappointed with it very small I couldn't stand up straight in one half because of the pitch of the roof no curtains so not ideal first thing in the morning when the sun comes up. Although the breakfast was good it wasn't any better than a 50 pun a night hotel I've stayed in before. The on site pub is good nothing special tho. Wouldn't tell anyone not to stay here tho,been in a lot worse an been in a lot better for less money. Overall not great value for money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I wished we had stayed at home quite frankly. Whilst the staff were very welcoming and polite, the state of the accommodation was horrible. We brought our dog with us so perhaps this is why we were placed, in my opinion, dirty and below standard rooms. I can understand that some people might not want to stay in rooms where dogs have been, but equally dog owners are not dirty and we certainly don’t live in dirty surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club

Address: on A697, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8XF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longhorsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Hotel Longhorsley
Macdonald Linden Hall Hotel Country
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club Longhorsley, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.