We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the teenagers loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longhorsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Hill Farm
Save
You added Beacon Hill Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Beacon Hill, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8QW, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bottle of wine on arrival
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Even the teenagers loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

When you have two teenage sons who would rather plug into a computer in a darkened room than go on holiday with their parents, then you know you have a challenge on your hands. I’m pleased to say that Beacon Hill has met the discerning requirements of my own Kevin and Perry and, wondrously, has also broken their habit of monosyllabic grunting.

The gym and swimming pool immediately piqued their interest in life beyond the Apple Mac, and a family doubles on the new tennis court was a daily competitive high. The boys may not have appreciated their mother waxing lyrical about the amazing views from Elm Cottage, nor understood the need to be dragged out for walks on nearby deserted beaches, but the unending cavern that is a teenage boy’s stomach was more than satisfied by the fantastic home-made food delivered to our freezer by the local ‘Nigella’, Kate Howard.

By the end of the week, which covered everything from sword fights in ruined castles to sizzling sausages on the Beacon Hill campfire, Kevin and Perry had morphed into George and Joseph. We parents had our sons back. I can give Beacon Hill no greater endorsement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
279
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Facilities fantastic, well organised clean a great place for our daughter to continue her swimming lessons, highly recommended, lots of information on local activities which is very helpful.
Pleasant surroundings family orientated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felsted
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Third time at Beacon Hill - and as good as ever!
My boys loved the swimming (twice a day!), sausages in the forest, games room and trampolines.
The cottages are amazingly well kept and maintained - cannot be faulted in any way.
Will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A fantastic family holiday in Curlew cottage at Beacon Hill. The cottage was wonderful and so well equipped. All the leisure facilities are well maintained and we made full use of them all! Real bonus to have a large wood to play in and have "sausage sizzle" teas cooked over a wood fire. Great to have some pamper time too in the Beauty Salon. Wonderful countryside views and wildlife, we often saw a young hare outside our lounge window. Excellent service from Alan and the other staff. Would highly recommend Beacon Hill to everyone of any age!

Room Tip: We chose Curlew as we knew it would be very spacious being a Mobility M2 accessible graded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just come back from another fantastic 2 week stay at Quarry Cottage at Beacon Hill. We love Quarry House as it has stunning views over the countryside and has been quite a special place to us over the years. This was our eleventh year staying at Beacon Hill and my two girls love coming here on holiday as it is so relaxed and they love the freedom the farm offers. When we are here we use the tennis courts, swimming pool and spa area. All are very well-maintained and kept to a high standard. We have booked for next year already and hope to come back for many more years to come.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Another fantastic week at Beacon Hill our home from home.
There is always something to see and do, even though this was our fifteenth time we never want to leave.
Facilities and the cottages are second to non and nothing is too much trouble for Alun and the staff to ensure you have a good time.
There is something for everyone of all ages on site our group covers grandparents, parents and children.
Everybody we have recommended Beacon Hill to and have visited agree how good it is and have returned on several occasions

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at Beacon Hill for a week in August. We had an excellent holiday in the area and the facilities were excellent. Everything was well-maintained and top quality.
We played tennis every other day and the spa facilities were a bonus.
We stayed in the smallest cottage but it was very comfortable and it had everything we needed. A welcoming bottle of wine and cake were a lovely touch.
Beacon Hill has wonderful views, it is quiet and well-situated to go to Morpeth where you will find everything you need.
It is a perfect point to explore the Northumberland region.
Excellent hosts.
I would highly recommend Beacon Hill to friends and would love to come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hill Farm

Address: Beacon Hill, Longhorsley, Morpeth NE65 8QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth > Longhorsley
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Longhorsley
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Hill Farm has 15 4 & 5 star Gold Award cottages set in 20 acres of gardens in the centre of a 360 acre estate near the Northumbrian coast. We have a fabulous Spa easily accessed with a short walk through the gardens from all the cottages. Morpeth the nearby market town has a wide range of restaurants and pubs. Beacon Hill is a wonderful place from which to discover the beauties that Northumberland offers from the heritage coast to Alnwick Garden. We are ideally positioned to visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beacon Hill Farm Longhorsley, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.