We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really magical break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindisfarne Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lindisfarne Hotel
Save
You added Lindisfarne Hotel to your Saves list
Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A really magical break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lindisfarne is a totally magical place that can't really be described. Staying over on the Island when the tide came in gave us a totally different view of the Island. The island is like two different places - parts of it were very busy during the day but in the evening it was very different.

Lindisfarne hotel is a great place to stay to get the most out a trip to holy island. Sean was so helpful in giving us advice of the places to go, and so welcoming.

Sean and Jackie's hotel is lovely. Really clean, well decorated and warm and friendly. The bed was so comfy.

The breakfast was also really good. I have Coeliac disease and so need to keep to a strict gluten free diet. They were so helpful and provided gluten free bread and sausages. A rare treat!

We had an amazing time and will definitely be back. Thanks so much to you both!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    26
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
107
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Never visited before, but what a wonderful warm welcome, our daughter was treated like a VIP, our room was wonderful, massive bed, room was big enough for the 3, of us, lovely en-suite, great hospitality, and breakfast was excellent, price good, would recommend it to everyone

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My daughter and I stayed one night at this hotel at the end of walking St. Cuthbert's Way (organized fabulously by Macs Adventures). We were welcomed cheerfully by Sean who not only made us feel very welcome but also served us hot tea and immediately oriented us to to the island. The latter was particularly appreciated as we were weary, wouldn't be staying on the island for more than 24 hours, and really wanted to maximize our time there. It's a lovely old building right in the heart of things. We found everything we needed in the room, and breakfast was delicious, plentiful and well organized. Sean is a very funny man---he kept us in stitches! Jacqueline, who we met at breakfast, was also delightful. Wonderful stay and a lovely end to a wonderful walking vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here last year and had a great time but our room looked a little tired. This year it appears lots of work has been done and I could not fault our stay. We came as a couple and also a family with an 11 year old and were made very welcome with hot drinks and lots of information about places of interest and places to eat. Our host was very funny and put everyone at ease with his manner. Our rooms were excellent and the breakfast delicious with nothing too much trouble for the staff. Off road parking is always a bonus to. Price is on parr with other similar venues on holly island and includes free wi fi. Will visit again and have no hesitation in recommending .
Nick short

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here just for one night at the beginning of April, and wished it had been longer. Room 6 is double aspect, and VERY comfortable. A sizeable room with a great big Superking sized bed and a couple of very comfy chairs to relax into. The hotel wasn't full, but it was probably the quietest nights sleep, I've ever had, anywhere.
The proprietor Sean, is the host with the most. On booking the room, his first advise was to book a table for dinner (sadly not on offer at The Lindisfarne Hotel), as tables for dinner are scarce when the Causeway is underwater. On booking in, we were sat down with a complimentary cuppa and map of the Island, which Sean then talked us through. Recommending a walk, and viewpoints around the Island.
Breakfast was one of the most generous that I have experienced in recent years, with the best quality ingredients used. Don't miss this place!! Pat and David

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stopped here for afternoon tea whilst on our days wander via bus from Berwick and walk round the island having visited the lovely Castle on a busy sunny / very windy day 9th April and wanted to get away from the crowds and coach parties. It was a lovely refuge with pleasant humourous service from Sean behind his lovely 1950's glass and red leather cocktail cabinet (£50 off ebay!) We had 2 large stotties withpots of tea and they really filled up the gap!!
The place is a lovely Victorian building and on talking to Sean learned that he obviously wants to restore it to its original beauty... yet some previous owner took out the original fireplaces!! However at Seans leisurely pace of life it seems it may take some time. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Convenient location, very comfortable accommodation - had a great night's sleep and very good food and the most hospitable and helpful hosts - Sean is a mine of knowledge and a would-be standup comedian to boot

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindisfarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Hotel

Address: Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LINDISFARNE HOTEL ON HOLY ISLAND IS RUN AS A B N B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Lindisfarne Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindisfarne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.