We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - absolutely no complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindisfarne Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lindisfarne Hotel
Save
You added Lindisfarne Hotel to your Saves list
Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Dollar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic - absolutely no complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I first stayed here last November and decided I wanted to hold my 50th birthday party on Lindisfarne having completed “St Cuthbert’s Way” : Melrose to Lindisfarne which is a superb walk.
Sean, the owner, was incredibly helpful before the event and on the day: he made the whole party feel at home. The majority of us walked on to Lindisfarne and were able to sit outside in the hotel’s lovely garden on arrival with Sean ensuring everyone had what they required. The rooms and breakfast were excellent and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay. I could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    26
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
107
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A large group descended on the Holy Island of Lindisfarne to celebrate a special birthday - and about half the party had walked the St Cuthbert Way to get there! Sean at the Lindisfarne Hotel made us feel very welcome - nothing was too much trouble - and his banter and sparkling wit livened up proceedings too! Clean, comfortable room with small shower room (there is a shared bathroom - with bath - across the landing). Breakfast good (after the excesses of the night before) There is no dinner service, but the dining room operates as a small cafe with teas and coffees and sandwiches at lunchtime.
The hotel has "why-aye-fi" (local joke!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a little gem when visiting the beautiful holy island we wanted somewhere nice for tea and a homemade scone perfect location warm welcome relaxed environment. And of course homemade scone was beautiful thank you for your friendly welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A great experience overall at the Lindisfarne Hotel. When I rang to make the booking Sean was friendly and helpful and the confirmation email had lots of useful information too including places to eat and visiting ideas. They have the advantage of a decent size car park so you can just tuck the car away and leave it there until you leave again (you've no real need for your car once you're here if you like a good walk). When you arrive you are offered tea and coffee in the dining room as you check in and Sean gave us a map of the island and some helpful suggestions of things to do and to be aware of.

The building itself was modern and fresh whilst retaining the period features of an obviously lovely old house. The room was lovely (we had room 2 which was a king size), nicely decorated, a lovely big sash window, plenty of tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits. The bed was comfy. We had a little ensuite shower room which was nice and clean. They don't skimp on heating so never really need to worry about being cold ... if anything we actually had to open the window at night as the room was too warm but I'd rather have to do that than be cold.

It seemed nothing was too much trouble for Sean and Jackie. Breakfast was really nice and sets you up for a good walk. One day when we came back from a walk Sean was putting the cafe signs away from outside the hotel and asked if we'd like a pot of tea/coffee which was very welcome.

It really is worth staying on the island, you really get to appreciate it once the day visitors have left when the tide comes in and cuts off the causeway and I would suggest the Lindisfarne Hotel would be a great place to base yourself. Location-wise it is a stones throw to most pubs/restaurants, the Lindisfarne Priory and the Winery are nearby and the castle is a mile walk/drive away (there is a castle shuttle bus which stops at various places in the town. We would not hesitate to stay again if the occasion arose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The great experience started with my booking that I made with Sean, I asked could he recommend a place for or evening meal, he did The Crown and Anchor and even made the booking for me!
Then on arrival with two friends (Graeme and Margaret) who travelled up with us for the day from Chester-Le-Street, Sean greeted us all with a very cheery come in sit down and all have a complimentary tea or coffee.
Within five minutes Sean and Jacqueline had Marilyn and I booked in and explained in detail what and where to see the things that make a stat on Holly Island a great one.
The room was very clean and well equipped as was the en suite, the breakfast was top quality and plenty of it, the service through out our stay was efficient with real Geordie humour and style.
We wanted to stay on Holly Island after breakfast, Sean say's nay bother leave your car here and call in for a coffee before you leave, which we did and then received a cheery smile and a wave as we left.
We will be re visiting Holly Island and our first call for a place to stay will be too Sean and Jacqueline.
Stan and Marilyn Aspinall (Widnes).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

stayed overnight at the lindisfarne hotel ,very friendly staff with a nice friendly welcome from the moment you walk in,full of useful information were to go what to see were best to eat and drink etc,the room we stayed in was clean and a good size,got a good nights sleep and woke up to a tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sean and Jacqueline run this brilliant bed and breakfast in the village on Holy Island.

We were greeted with a cup of tea and they were happy for us to leave our bags (and check in early) whilst we went off to explore the island.

We stayed in room 4 on the 1st floor - a large room with a brilliant super king size bed. The room had a small ensuite and nice views.

The breakfast was excellent and Sean happily organised us a taxi to get back to Berwick.

We would definitely recommend staying here. As Sean said himself though, one night probably isn't enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindisfarne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindisfarne Hotel

Address: Green Lane, TD15 2SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LINDISFARNE HOTEL ON HOLY ISLAND IS RUN AS A B N B ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindisfarne Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed
Lindisfarne Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindisfarne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.