We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and beer. We didn't stay, only ate dinner there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Save
You added Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
Market Place, TD15 2RX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and beer. We didn't stay, only ate dinner there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

this place was recommended to us by our B&B owner and we were not dissapointed. The food was very good indeed and was good value too. My good lady is a former professional chef and is quite critical. No, very critical! So if she's happy with the food then it's a recommendation indeed. And the beer was good. Just the right temperature!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    67
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
130
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here, arriving very cold and wet after walking the Pilgrim's Path and the welcome could not have been warmer. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, our needs fully catered for and nothing too much trouble. Food is excellent, the views from the restaurant are stunning and Purdey, our waitress, went above and beyond to help us with our travel plans. All the staff were friendly and professional, and we would definitely recommend the hotel as a special place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Arrived soaking wet having walked St Cuthbert's Way, too early for check in but friendly staff made us welcome and let us in to our room which was ready and very comfortable. Great end to a fantastic long walk, able to dry off, have a drink in the bar and relax before an excellent evening meal in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a 2 night stay on the island and ate both evening meals at the Manor House Hotel. We Found the staff very friendly with prompt service. The choice was vast and food excellent. Would like to go back and try a few more dishes as found it hard to choose. Would definitely recommend. Large portions and very good value. Lovely views from the dining room of the priory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have eaten here twice, once in June and then again in August, both times we had fish and chips and oth times the food was excellent. Will be back on the Island next summer and we l definately book in again for a meal here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed there with my girlfriend and a big gang of friends whilst doing the Coast & Castles cycle route from Newcastle to Edinburgh.
When we arrived after 6pm, tired, soaked and cold from our long, wet day of cycling what we didn't need was sarcastic comments from the landlady . . . . Once we realised she was 'only joking' we locked our bikes up at the side of the hotel (no dry, secure storage for bikes) and were allocated keys for our rooms. We enquired about drying facilities but there were none, so we had to turn the heating up in our rooms, open the windows and hang all our clothes up where we could in our rooms to dry.
We had strict instructions that the kitchen wouldn't be taking food orders after 8pm so we didn't have that much time to relax before dinner. As there was 17 of us for dinner, we asked if we could re-arrange the tables so we could all sit together, but 'the management' refused our request. Seemed a bit strange seeing as there was hardly anyone else eating in the bar. Service & food was average, but we all had a good time, ate loads of food, drank plenty and SPENT LOTS OF MONEY!!!
Breakfast was good, especially the black pudding :-) The rain had stopped from the night before to be replaced by bright sunshine and our clothes had managed to dry out thankfully. We did however get the impression that they didn't want us there. Some of our friends stayed at a smaller place just around the corner where the owner couldn't do enough for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in the Manor, but met my uncle & partner who did stay there for a meal as we had to attend to some sad family business. The food was amazing and I cleared the plate, managed NOT to lick the plate or eat it. If the chef always cooks like that, I'll happily marry him!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal.

We have two chefs so next time your here you can take your pick!

Thank you again

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Market Place, TD15 2RX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Holy Island
Manor House Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.