We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - wanted to stay longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holy Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Save
You added Manor House Hotel to your Saves list
Market Place, TD15 2RX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Holy Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic - wanted to stay longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived on the island for one night to celebrate a friend's birthday and we were delighted with our accommodation. The room, complete with four poster bed was charming; very comfortable, clean and with a bath which was welcome after a long walk over two days... The views were simply spectacular and I cannot imagine they could be bettered anywhere in the world. Staff were very friendly and breakfast tasty and substantial. We didn't get to eat dinner as the birthday girl had made other plans for us, but the menu looked great and the smells from the dining room were delicious - I suspect we wouldn't have been disappointed. A return visit to this beautiful island and another stay in this hotel - definitely!

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are lovely, but certainly our view of the sea from one window and the abbey from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review, its always great to hear when guests have had an enjoyable stay, and we are so pleased that you were delighted with your accommodation.

We have to agree that the views on Holy Island are spectacular, and we hope you and your friend enjoyed her birthday celebrations on Holy Island.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit!

Thank you again

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    67
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
129
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have just returned from Lindisfarne island and while there booked a table for 2 in their restaurant. It was fabulous food all fresh and the staff are very attentive and make yu feel very welcome. I had fresh salmon which was the best ever and hubby had Duck which again was very nice. The cheeseboard along with 3 local cheeses was amazing but too big for one person.....Keep up the good work :-)

Room Tip: Sorry only had a meal there so not sure which are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your meal at the Manor House, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and that the staff were attentive and welcoming.

We promise to keep up the good work!

Thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We visit Holy Island (aka Lindisfarne) off the Northumberland coast when we can - although it's about 700 miles from where we live! There is a causeway but the place is cut-off for much of the day and so it has an island feel about it. That explains in part its ecclesiastical history and also its unique atmosphere. Look it up if you do not know the place.
The church and ruined abbey are spectacular but the real joy is the castle perched on a tiny promentary. It was remodeled by Lutyens and is now owned by the National Trust and an unmissable experience.

This time we stayed at the Manor House which was excellent in all respects. The aspect to the castle is picture-book. The restaurant is very good and the staff could not be more helpful. It is ideally situated (nowhere is more than a five minute walk away) but retains an atmosphere of detached comfort.

We can certainly recommend it - especially as it is very child-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review, its great to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay on Holy Island, especially after such a long journey!

We are so pleased that you found the Manor House excellent in all respects and thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant and staff.

We hope you can make a return visit.

Thank you

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a brilliant weekend staying at The Manor House Hotel. We had room 10 and I don't think I have slept on a more comfortable bed and the views from this room were fantastic. The hotel staff were very friendly and we ate all of our meals there - the food was lovely. Will definitely be returning in the future to this lovely peaceful island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
It is so great to hear that you had you had a brilliant weekend stay at the Manor House and that the bed was so comfortable and views fantastic!

We really do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and we’ll let the staff know that you found them very friendly and the food lovely, thank you.

We hope you are able to return and thank you so much again.

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tynemouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in Room 4. Nice room with great view of the castle and sea. Its not one of the magnificant looking rooms you see on the website but still really nice and worth the money. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent, generous crab starter and tasty rabbit and pheasant cobbler with loads of veg. Excellent choice of wine and effecient service. Very accommodating and friendly proprietor. All staff very friendly. Breakfast good too, choice of kippers/ smoked haddock as well as the usual full English. The local island preserves were a nice touch at breakfast. The curious thing about this hotel is that its style is inconsistent. Or maybe it hasn't decided what it is. The bar area is very modern and you could be anywhere in the UK, Perhaps a chain pub. The feel you get from the staff is more relaxed and homely which I prefer. Then the room decor is more country house hotel. We really enjoyed our stay though and this isn't a criticism. Great hospitality, excellent food and amazing views. I'd like to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Its fantastic that you found the staff friendly and that you enjoyed the food and we do try to source as much local produce as possible, including the local preserves at breakfast.

Thank you for your comments on the style of the hotel and we have taken these on board, with regards to the bar area this was recently extended and refurbished and we agree that the rooms may not reflect this new style, hopefully over time we will be able to rectify this. Although it’s so good to hear that this did not detract from your overall enjoyment of your stay with us.

We really hope you can visit again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you again

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Situation, perfect. Staff very pleasant and helpful.Food amazing. Bedroom excellent with a traditional four poster brass bed. View out of window must rate as one of the best in the world. One small fault, was that the bed was difficult if you were 6 feet or over as I am, kept stubbing my toes, but that was my fault. All in all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: If going to Holy Island, do try here. Views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and we are sorry about the bed and toe stubbing and hope it didn’t impact on your overall excellent stay!

It’s great to hear that the staff were pleasant and helpful and the food amazing, we’ll pass on these kind comments to all our staff.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you again.

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely weekend on the island. Rooms were more than adequate, and nothing was a problem for the friendly staff. The food was awesome, with good portions with plenty of taste, can't recommend this hotel highly enough.Will definitely returning soon,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorHouseHolyIsland, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it and apologies for not replying sooner.

It’s fantastic to know that you had a lovely weekend and that the staff were friendly and food awesome! We have passed on your kind comments to all of our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you!

The Manor House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Market Place, TD15 2RX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Holy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Holy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Holy Island
Manor House Hotel Holy Island, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.